Thursday, September 16, 2021

BLOG TOUR - The Couple Upstairs


DESCRIPTION:


Our new home was supposed to be a chance to leave our past behind. But was moving here the worst mistake of our lives?

All our friends and family were gathered, glasses raised to toast our fresh start. It should have been a night for happiness and celebration. Zac and I had worked so hard for this: our first home together, just minutes from the sea. But the dream quickly turned into a nightmare…

We’d invited our neighbours too. I wanted to make a good impression – to show them we’re exactly the sort of people they want living on their street.

I hadn’t thought about who they might be, the strangers I was letting in.

It was going so well. There was laughter in the air and the wine was flowing. But then I noticed the narrowed eyes, the whispers.

And then the lights went out.

As my heart thumped in my chest, all the little things that had been going wrong since we moved here flashed through my mind: the food poisoning, the arguments, the flood of nasty reviews shaking my business.

Am I going crazy? Or is someone trying to destroy us?

From the USA Today bestselling author Shalini Boland comes an absolutely heart-thumping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us.


BUY LINKS:



MY THOUGHTS:
 
Title:   The Couple Upstairs
Author:  Shalini Boland
Publisher:  Bookouture
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   263
Date of Publication:   September 13, 2021
My Rating:   5 Stars

Nina and Zac move into a lovely two-flat and they have their entire future ahead of them. Their eagerness and excitement about the move soon begins to fade, especially for Nina as she quickly becomes concerned about the actions of her neighbors upstairs. The wife, Vanessa, is pregnant and more than a bit quiet, but Nina still holds out hope that they will become friends. However, Nina doesn't like the husband, Chris. Something about him rubs her the wrong way. What is more is that Nina often hears arguments, as well as furniture being tossed about at all hours. What is going on upstairs?

Meanwhile, Nina has a business that she is struggling to get off the ground. When she hosts a dinner for Vanessa and Chris that does not go well, she offers Vanessa a part-time job performing clerical duties. Nina hopes that by working together that Vanessa will be comfortable confiding in her. Nina knows things are not right upstairs and she hopes to do something about it.

Meanwhile, her business is hitting the wall. One neighbor complains about deliveries. Some customers are complaining. Other things go wrong. Nina's partner Zac is completely unconcerned. However, Nina starts to query as to all of these things happening at the same time and if there could be any possible connection.

As this is a psychological thriller, we can expect there to be at least one nefarious character. I was more than drawn into the story the more it progressed, and found myself quite surprised as to who that individual was. I loved being on the edge of my seat while struggling to work things out, especially as Nina's frustrations were so utterly palpable.

If you are looking for a thrilling story that will garner you attention from beginning to end, then this is the book for you. Shalini Boland never disappoints, and The Couple Upstairs most certainly proves that.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Shalini lives in Dorset, England with her husband, two children and Jess their cheeky terrier cross. Before kids, she was signed to Universal Music Publishing as a singer songwriter, but now she spends her days writing suspense thrillers (in between school runs and hanging out endless baskets of laundry).

http://someonewotwrites.blogspot.com/
https://www.instagram.com/shaboland/
https://twitter.com/ShaliniBoland

3 comments:

  1. This sounds divine - you find the best stuff!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I do like the sound of this book, I love a good psychological thriller. Great review.

    ReplyDelete