Saturday, April 20, 2019

MARCH 2019 READS

I have read 42 books in February. Each link is clickable on Goodreads.

MARCH READS:

Read: THE CASTLE MYSTERY (Jenny Starling, #4) by Faith Martin Mother's Day Murder (A Lucy Stone Mystery, #15) by Leslie Meier The Riverboat Mystery by Faith Martin The Winter Mystery by Faith Martin The Birthday Mystery (Jenny Starling, #1) by Faith Martin The Amish Spinster's Courtship by Emma Miller Closer Than You Think by Darren O’Sullivan My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing The Killer in Me (Frankie Sheehan, #2) by Olivia Kiernan Vengeance in Death (In Death, #6) by J.D. Robb My Sister is Missing by Julia Barrett St. Patrick's Day Murder (A Lucy Stone Mystery, #14) by Leslie Meier Rocky Mountain Cowboy by Sara Richardson Too Close to Breathe (Frankie Sheehan, #1) by Olivia Kiernan The Girl Across the Street by Vikki Patis Knowing You by Samantha Tonge The Widows by Jess Montgomery She's Mine by Claire S. Lewis Hard Loving Cowboy (Crossroads Ranch, #3) by A.J. Pine The Next to Die (Spilling CID, #10) by Sophie Hannah We All Love the Beautiful Girls by Joanne Proulx Tough Luck Cowboy (Crossroads Ranch, #2) by A.J. Pine Death in Kew Gardens (Kat Holloway Mysteries, #3) by Jennifer Ashley Twisted Truths (Blood Brothers, #3) by Rebecca Zanetti Saved by the Cowboy (Crossroads Ranch, #1.5) by A.J. PineLethal Lies (Blood Brothers, #2) by Rebecca Zanetti Scandal Above Stairs (Kat Holloway Mysteries, #2) by Jennifer Ashley Deadly Silence (Blood Brothers, #1) by Rebecca Zanetti Death Below Stairs (Kat Holloway Mysteries, #1) by Jennifer Ashley The Woman in the Dark by Vanessa Savage Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier The Bones She Buried (Detective Josie Quinn #5) by Lisa Regan The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft Flare Up (Boston Fire, #6) by Shannon Stacey The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager Cemetery Road by Greg Iles I Invited Her In by Adele Parks Suddenly Mine (Montgomery Brothers, #8) by Samantha Chase The Perfect Alibi (Robin Lockwood #2) by Phillip Margolin The Winter Sister by Megan Collins The Third Victim (Robin Lockwood #1) by Phillip Margolin The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl Falling for the Cowboy Dad (Home to Eagle's Rest) by Patricia Johns 

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

BLOG TOUR - The Girl in the Painting


Here is my stop on the Blog Tour for The Woman in The Painting by Renita D'Silva.

DESCRIPTION:

Discover the secret of the girl in the painting today.


India, 1926: English Margaret arrives with her new husband Suraj at his family home, set amidst beautiful rolling hills, the air filled with the soft scent of spices and hibiscus flowers. Margaret is unwelcome, homesick and lonely, but her maid Archana, a young woman from an impoverished family, reminds her of her long-lost sister, a tiny glimpse of home in a faraway place.

As Margaret and Archana spend more time together, an unexpected friendship blooms. But in British India the divide between rich and poor, English and Indian, is wide, and the clash between Margaret’s modern views and the weight of tradition on Archana will lead to devastating results…

England, 2000: When Emma’s grandmother gives her a mysterious painting, and asks her to take a message of forgiveness to an old friend in India, Emma is relieved to have some time and space to make a decision about her future. But as she fulfils her grandmother’s wish, a secret kept for over seventy years is finally revealed – the story of a day spent painting by a stream full of water lilies, where a betrayal tore three lives apart forever…

Perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes, Lucinda Riley and The Storyteller’s Secret, Renita D’Silva’s exquisite novel explores the strength it takes to do what is right, no matter the cost.


Author:  Renita D'Silva
Genre:   Historical Fiction
Publisher:   Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  503
Date of Publication:  April 11, 2019
My Rating:  4.5 Stars

Emma is a loving granddaughter who follows through to check out her dying grandmother’s house in India. It is year 2000, and this beautiful saga shifts and becomes a story of past and present when Emma promises to give a mysterious painting to someone called Archana.

Leaving England to head to India could not have come at a better time for Emma as her relationship is greatly suffering. As a mother to eight-year-old Sophie, Emma is forced to make difficult choices. 

The story shifts back to the early 1900’s, during and after World War I, and tells of the difficult and tragic life of Margaret, Emma’s grandmother. It also tells of Archana, someone who played a pivotal role in Margaret’s life, who Emma struggles to locate. Both Margaret’s and Archana’s stories are tragic and their lives are expertly chronicled.

Reading this stunningly amazing book by Renita D’Silva was very much like watching a captivating mini-series. There were many stories told, with much sadness, yet this book managed also to deliver hope and joy. The storytelling by this talented author was done with exquisite perfection.

Some of the things I enjoyed during this read were the intense drama, romance, family and learning of Indian culture. Times were hard after the war, so there were some difficult passages, such as tragic experiences. This compelling read was very difficult to put down and I felt for all three women, Emma, but especially Margaret and Archana. Their lives held such drama, and it felt so very real.

This wonderful read is definitely highly recommended. I haven’t read anything by this author before, but I will definitely look for both previous and future works.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion. 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Renita D'Silva loves stories, both reading and creating them. Her short stories have been published in 'The View from Here', 'Bartleby Snopes', 'this zine', 'Platinum Page', 'Paragraph Planet' among others and have been nominated for the 'Pushcart' prize and the 'Best of the Net' anthology. She is the author of 'Monsoon Memories','The Forgotten Daughter', 'The Stolen Girl', 'A Sister's Promise', 'A Mother's Secret', 'A Daughter's Courage', 'Beneath An Indian Sky'.

Author Social Media Links

TWITTER: @RenitaDSilva


Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Review - Like the Wind


We are thrilled to be bringing you the release of LIKE THE WIND by J. Bengtsson! Previously released as an Audible Original audiobook, LIKE THE WIND is now available in ebook and paperback. Be sure to grab your copy today!


DESCRIPTION:
Prepare to laugh, cry, and fall in love with this enthralling new romance from J. Bengtsson!

When a letter from his supposedly deceased mother finds its way into his hands, life changes in an instant for international pop star Bodhi Beckett.

Reeling from the deception of those closest to him, Bodhi spirals out of control and is sent to a secluded mansion in the coastal mountains of Southern California for some rest and relaxation. But the retreat proves to be anything but relaxing when a raging wildfire sets the landscape around him ablaze.

While escaping the flames, Bodhi rescues Breeze, a quirky, pet-loving woman, and together the two fight their way to safety. In the aftermath of the fire, Bodhi and Breeze hit the road to uncover the truth about his family. What neither of them expected is to forge a powerful connection that will change their lives forever...but can it survive the real world, or will it disappear like the wind?




Get your copy of LIKE THE WIND today!



MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   Like the Wind
Author:  J. Bengtsson
Genre:   Romance
Publisher:   Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  335
Date of Publication:  April 16, 2019
My Rating:  4.5 Stars

I didn't know what to expect when I began this book. I was thinking music star bad boy strings screaming fan along. I could not have been more wrong. What I got was a great love story that begin against the tragic backdrop of a brush fire.

Bodhi Beckett and Breeze meet under the most difficult of circumstances. He jumps in a car to escape a devastating fire, and he sees her on the road as she is attempting to do the same - her and her brood of animals. Bodhi has a great heart, so he gladly saves Breeze.

This touching story was just wonderful. While Bodhi is just looking for a safe place, secretly Breeze is on fire in another way. He is shirtless. What is more is he is a rock star! And now, she is in his car. Bodhi wants privacy and secrecy as he needs to do everything he can to avoid his wild fans. As they get to know one another, the story takes on a rather sensitive edge. Bodhi learns of the heartbreak that Breeze experienced and she begins to understand his past as a childhood star, with him now being a singer. 

Neither Bodhi nor Breeze had it easy. What they do have now, however, is a powerful attraction to one another. However, as in all romance novels, love never comes easy. There must be conflict and the way it was handled was very well done. The realities of being involved with a rock star affected Breeze on a very deep level. The way J. Bengtsson presented it was compelling, as there seemed no way for Bodhi and Breeze to find their forever love. There were other serious situations dealt with in this book. 

I absolutely loved Like the Wind. Her writing style was captivating and kept me turning pages. I read this book in only two sittings and am pleased to say that it had a terrific ending, one that I didn't expect. As a matter of fact, the ending was so warm that I re-read it. This delightful book leaves me with a strong desire to read much more buy this talented author.

Many thanks to Amazon Digital Services and to Inkslinger PR for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

A professional stay-at-home-mom for twenty-one years, Jill started her writing career in 2016 after reading a really bad rockstar romance. Although she had no previous writing experience and no desire to become an author, Jill was convinced she could write a better story. And so began Cake: A Love Story. She wrote the novel for fun and added every single thing she’d ever wanted to read in a romance.

Embarrassed by her newfound hobby, Jill kept her writing a secret from her family. When the story was complete, she turned to Amazon to get the feedback she desired. Not thinking the book would ever sell, Jill planned to pull Cake off Amazon once it got a review or two but that never happened because, within a week of its release, Cake began to soar up the bestseller charts. Not only was Jill shocked by Cake’s success but now she had a whole new burgeoning career on her hands…and some explaining to do. Needless to say, the news of Jill’s secret book bay came as a complete shock to her husband and three children. Jill is now a full-time writer.

  Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter.