Saturday, July 6, 2019

BLOG TOUR - The Little Village of Happiness


Today I am quite  pleased to be a part of the Blog Tour for The Little Village of Happiness by Holly Martin.

DESCRIPTION:
Fall head-over-heels in love with the beautiful new novel from bestselling author Holly Martin and let The Little Village of Happiness warm your heart and make your spirits soar.

Willow McKay needs a fresh start. Her recent break-up may not have left her heartbroken but it’s certainly wounded her pride. Desperate to escape the whispers and stares of her town’s gossips, an advert offering homes in a picturesque village in the grounds of a majestic castle on the Cornish coast sounds like just what she needs. Without thinking twice Willow applies for a cottage and packs up her life for the village of Happiness.

But when Willow arrives she finds a crumbling ruin and ramshackle cottages, nothing like the pretty picture the advert had boasted. It seems Happiness was too good to be true. That is until she meets the incredibly handsome estate manager Andrew Harrington…

His passion for restoring the village to its former glory is contagious and soon they are working together to bring happiness back to Happiness. And as sparks fly between them Willow can feel herself falling. But Andrew is holding something back.

Can Willow risk her heart again? And will they succeed in transforming the old village to its original beauty before it’s too late?

Get swept away to the sun-kissed Cornish coast with this gorgeous love story, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Miranda Dickinson and Lucy Diamond.


MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   The Little Village of Happiness
Author:  Holly Martin
Genre:   Romance
Publisher:   Sunshine, Seaside and Sparkles
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  381
Date of Publication:  July 5, 2019
My Rating:  4.5 Stars

Willow McKay has had a recent break-up. She is not exactly heartbroken, but she really needed a fresh start. When she sees an enticing ad, she decides to uproot her life and start anew in a picturesque village called Happiness. However, when she arrives she discovers that the village is far from gorgeous. As a matter of fact, it is falling apart and doesn't even have a lot of residents.

Meeting the new estate manager, Andrew Harrington, a man she is definitely drawn to, slowly begins to change her perception. She loves the drive he has for making Happiness into a gorgeous destination. If Andrew's ideas come to fruition he is certain he can attract people, including families, to live there.

Willow is a candle maker, but she is eager to help Andrew and they begin working together to make things beautiful. While the two are definitely well-matched and sparks begin to fly, Willow can't help but be concerned that Andrew is holding something back. On the one hand, after ending her previous relationship, she doesn't want to end up involved again, she cannot help herself. However, Willow and Andrew can only resist each other for so long.

This romance was done very well, and the conflicts that arose made the story even more compelling. I appreciated how Holly Martin wrote Andrew's character and the challenges he dealt with. This was a very delightful read, and I enjoyed the light moments in the book. It was also quite enjoyable watching the town bloom in all of its beauty. I loved how this story ended and am really looking forward to the next book to come, The Gift of Happiness

Many thanks to Holly Martin for this book to review in exchange for my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

I live in a little white cottage overlooking the sea. I studied media at university which led to a very glitzy career as a hotel receptionist followed by an even more glamorous two years working in a bank. The moment that one of my colleagues received the much coveted carriage clock for fifteen years’ service was the moment when I knew I had to escape. I quit my job and returned to university to train to be a teacher. Three years later, I emerged wide eyed and terrified that I now had responsibility for the development of thirty young minds. I taught for four years and then escaped the classroom to teach history workshops, dressing up as a Viking one day and an Egyptian High Priestess the next. But the long journeys around the UK and many hours sat on the M25 gave me a lot of time to plan out my stories and I now write full time, doing what I love.

I have been writing for 6 years. I was shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romance 2012. My short story won the Sunlounger competition and was published in the Sunlounger anthology in 2013. I won the Carina Valentine’s competition at the Festival of Romance 2013 with my novel The Guestbook. I was shortlisted for Best Romantic Read, Best eBook and Innovation in Romantic Fiction at the Festival of Romance 2014.



5 comments:

  1. I love this genre so, so much! There's always something to learn about human nature in these books if you ask me. Great review! I am happy you enjoyed it. I will be adding this book to my TBR. Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have never read this author but I am going to look into her.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds divine - thanx for sharing

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm so happy you enjoyed it too. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  5. There are certainly a lot of details like that to take into consideration. That is a great point to bring up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment?s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.
    high heels sandals

    ReplyDelete