Friday, August 16, 2019

Review - The Friendship Pact

Author:  Alison James
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   278
Date of Publication:  June 28, 2019
My Rating:  4 Stars

DESCRIPTION:

I’m Lucy, and I have a secret.
I have a beautiful home, that I’m desperate to escape.
But that’s not my secret.
I tell my friends I’ve never wanted children, when I always have.
But that’s not my secret.
My husband is a celebrated surgeon, who tries to control me.
But that’s not my secret.

Adele knows.
Once upon a time, I knew everything about her and she knew everything about me.
Best friends forever.
But now our secret is beginning to surface.
I can trust her more than anyone. We made a pact.
And she’s never do anything to hurt me. Would she?

This absolutely gripping psychological thriller will have you forgetting everything until the last shocking twist. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Friend Request, and The Girl on the Trainwill be hooked. 


MY THOUGHTS:

Lucy has had to cope with two extremely difficult time periods in her life. Something dreadful happened in her childhood and something beyond impossible is going on in her present. As far as when Lucy was a child, she befriended Adele. Theirs was a tenuous friendship from the outset, but after a mutual friend, Joanne, lost her life in a horrible accident, Lucy and Adele lost the bond they had.

Years later, Lucy is married to a prominent surgeon. The least of her problems is that he decided they would never have children, despite how she felt about it. The depth of their problems, however, is the extreme controlling and domestic violence that she can't seem to get away from, no matter how hard she tries.

Running out of options, Lucy is forced to locate Adele and ask her for help. After their experiences as children begs the question: can Adele be trusted? Can she be the key to helping Lucy escape the clutches of her dangerous husband?

With one untimely event after another, combined with duplicity on more than one level, Lucy fights tooth and nail to take a hold of her life. All the while, with the exception of Lucy,  the story is filled with page after page of rather unlikable characters. Lucy is head and shoulders above just about everyone else, and I rooted from her from the beginning until the thrilling end. Alison James has written another engaging story. 

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Born in the Cotswolds, Alison spent most of her formative years abroad. She studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after her two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, Alison worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.

6 comments:

  1. This one looks good. I love psychological thrillers.

    ReplyDelete
  2. There something great about unlikeable characters in a thriller. Thanks for the review.
    Gemma @ Gemma's Book Nook

    ReplyDelete
  3. Looks like an awesome book!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great review Robin, now I am intrigued I don't mind reading books with unlikable characters and this one looks and sounds right up my alley as well. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete