Sunday, August 18, 2019

BLOG TOUR - Where I Found You


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for Where I Found You by Emma Robinson.


DESCRIPTION:

Your daughter does not speak… But can she teach you how to live?

Ever since Ruby was tiny, she has been unique. Her smiles are magically rare, her building blocks are always colour-coded, and she communicates only in gestures. Sometimes, being Ruby’s mother is hard, but the way she sees the world makes it new for Sara every day.

When Sara’s husband walks out on them, Sara’s world falls apart, and her mother-in-law, Barbara, is the only person she can turn to for help. But Barbara thinks Ruby’s problems are all in Sara’s head; that she just doesn’t know how to raise a child right.

Sara can’t see how she’ll cope alone. Barbara won’t listen. Can a girl who doesn’t speak show them the way?

A powerful emotional page-turner about motherhood, friendship and family. Guaranteed to take your breath away. Perfect for fans of A Boy Made of Blocks, Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes.


BUY LINKS:
AMZ: https://geni.us/B07SQRSP1XSocial
Apple Books: https://buff.ly/2Kvr4ph
Kobo: https://buff.ly/33tz9lT
Googleplay: https://buff.ly/2yX4nUl


MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   Where I Found You
Author:  Emma Robinson
Genre:   Women's Fiction, Literary Fiction
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  300
Date of Publication:  August 16, 2019
My Rating:  4.5 Stars

Sara is more than pleased to be a mother. However, she knows her three-year-old Ruby is unique. She met several milestones as expected, but has stopped speaking. Furthermore, Ruby's play is guided by order - she color codes her toys, lines them up perfectly, and will repeat playful tasks repeatedly.

Mike thinks Ruby is a typical child. What is more, so does Mike's mother, Barbara. Currently, Mike has returned to acting, his first love that he gave up after marriage and fatherhood. Partly due to this, Mike has convinced Sara that moving in with Barbara will be best for the family financially. Mike can work hard on the play he just got hired to, and the couple can save money for a home of their own.

So, not only is Sara worried about Ruby, she is now living in the home of a woman who never showed her much consideration or respect. As a matter of fact, she second-guesses Sara at every turn, whereas Mike can do no wrong.

Sara takes a huge step, actually more than one. Not only does she find a part-time job, she even enrolls Ruby into a pre-school. This opens the door for Sara to act on her suspensions that things are not quite right with Ruby. After all, Sara is concerned for Ruby's happiness and future, as any well-meaning mother would be. Not only is Sara living in Barbara's home, she wakes up to discover that Mike has left them and that she is now a single parent.

What a touching story! Where I Found You not only focuses on Sara working on obtaining a diagnosis for Ruby, and where she might be on the autism spectrum, she also works on her dream of being an artist, finding friends she can rely on, and even growing in her relationship with her mother-in-law. 

Emma Robinson has delivered an effective story and has handled it with grace. As I have a grandson and nephew who are autistic, I felt very comfortable with how Ms. Robinson wrote this story, including expressing how isolated Sara felt at times. I truly enjoy her writing and do look forward to reading much more in the future.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

Emma Robinson is the author of three novels about motherhood and female friendship including The Undercover Mother.

Her fourth novel - Where I Found You - is available to preorder now and will be released on the 16th August 2019.

When she is not writing, Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.


6 comments:

  1. This sounds like a really interesting book. I don't know if I would be the right reader for it. Though it sounds like a good read.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the sound of this one. I think I'll be able to relate to the story.
    Gemma @ Gemma's Book Nook

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like it was an emotional read for you. Great review, Robin.

    Totally Addicted to Reading

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great review, I enjoyed this book too.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Amazing review Robin I've been seeing this book around lately and it looks and sounds like an amazing and beautiful story. I am really glad you fully enjoyed reading it, thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete