Saturday, August 22, 2020

Review - The Girl From Widow Hills

Author:  Megan Miranda
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Publisher:   Simon & Schuster
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  336
Date of Publication:  June 23, 2020
My Rating:  4 Stars


Everyone knows the story of “the girl from Widow Hills.”

Arden Maynor was just a child when she was swept away while sleepwalking during a terrifying rainstorm and went missing for days. Strangers and friends, neighbors and rescue workers, set up search parties and held vigils, praying for her safe return. Against all odds, she was found, alive, clinging to a storm drain. The girl from Widow Hills was a living miracle. Arden’s mother wrote a book. Fame followed. Fans and fan letters, creeps, and stalkers. And every year, the anniversary. It all became too much. As soon as she was old enough, Arden changed her name and disappeared from the public eye.

Now a young woman living hundreds of miles away, Arden goes by Olivia. She’s managed to stay off the radar for the last few years. But with the twentieth anniversary of her rescue approaching, the media will inevitably renew its interest in Arden. Where is she now? Soon Olivia feels like she’s being watched and begins sleepwalking again, like she did long ago, even waking outside her home. Until late one night she jolts awake in her yard. At her feet is the corpse of a man she knows—from her previous life, as Arden Maynor.

And now, the girl from Widow Hills is about to become the center of the story, once again, in this propulsive page-turner from suspense master Megan Miranda.


Arden Maynor suffered with sleepwalking as a child. During one of these times, she actually had gone missing for several days. The search parties and her eventual return were so noted that her mother even wrote a book. This became far too much for Arden so when she could she changed her name and moved away as far as possible. Staying off the grid got rid of the public's unwanted attention. However, now, known as Olivia, it is not twenty years later and the anniversary of that difficult time in her life approaches.

Not only does this still happen, but this time when she awakens there is a corpse in her yard. What  is more is the man is someone Olivia knew when she was Arden. Why is he dead in her yard? How has someone connected her with the memory and name of her past?

This dramatic book turns into an incredible thriller. For one thing, Olivia's mother passed away months, before, which was unknown to Olivia. Also, there are other things going on that simply do not add up. The connection between her past and present is coming together and she has no way to stop what is going on before being able to wrap her mind around the fact that her very life might be in danger.

What a thrilling ride to be dragged through what was going on with Olivia. The tension never let up for one second and led to a shocking conclusion.

Many thanks to Simon & Schuster and to NetGalley, as well as Edelweiss, for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.


Megan Miranda is the New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls and The Perfect Stranger. She has also written several books for young adults, including Fracture, The Safest Lies, and Fragments of the Lost. She grew up in New Jersey, graduated from MIT, and lives in North Carolina with her husband and two children.

Come Find Me is her newest book for young adults. Her next adult suspense, The Last House Guest, will be published on June 18th, 2019.


  1. Your excellent reviews are causing havoc with my TBR ;)

  2. Thank you for sharing this one. I am super intrigued!

  3. Psychological thriller is normally way outside my comfort zone but this sounds so intriguing!!