Friday, September 27, 2019

BLOG TOUR - No Time to Say Goodbye


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for No Time To Say Goodbye by Kate Hewitt.

DESCRIPTION:

It hit me, the reality of it, in a way it hadn’t before like a sledgehammer straight to the chest. Laura was gone. She was never coming back. I’d never see her again; she’d never hum in the kitchen, she’d never pull Ruby onto her lap and tickle her tummy as she buried her face in the sweet curve of our daughter’s shoulder.

Nathan West loved his wife Laura with all his heart. But now she’s gone, taken from him in a seemingly random act of violence. Laura was the glue that held their family together. And for Nathan, life without her feels almost meaningless.

As he tries to find hope in the darkness, his three young daughters express their grief in different and challenging ways – with one set on a path of self-destruction that could devastate their family all over again. Desperate to understand his own heartbreak better, he reaches out to others who had known Laura. Including her new friend Maria, whose light and warmth are exactly what their grieving family needs, and who is soon helping out and providing emotional support for them all.

But the picture Maria paints of Laura is unfamiliar to Nathan – of a wife who felt ignored, a mother who felt she couldn’t do enough – and he struggles to reconcile it with his own memories of the woman he loved. Is it possible he didn’t know his wife after all? And can he trust Maria? He can’t escape the feeling that she’s keeping something from him.

Maria is hiding a secret with the power to rock Nathan’s family to its core. Because it is about what happened the day that Laura died…

An insightful and powerful novel guaranteed to break your heart, about how the unthinkable can sometimes help us see the world in a powerful new way. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Susan Lewis.  

MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   No Time to Say Goodbye
Author:  Kate Hewitt
Genre:   Literary Fiction, Women's Fiction
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   354
Date of Publication:  September 27, 2019
My Rating:  5 Stars

Nathan's wife Laura is dead and he is now alone to raise their three young daughters. Facing this challenge, and the fact that he doesn't know his daughters as well as he thinks he does, causes him to reach out. For starters, Nathan cannot believe the circumstances in which his wife died. When he meets a woman at Laura's funeral, she is the very person Nathan reaches out to.

This woman, Maria, said that she was a friend of Laura's. Before long, she pretty much steps right in and things begin to make sense to Nathan and the girls. With Nathan's intense workload, Maria seems to be a godsend. However, things simply cannot be this easy, this smooth. Eventually Nathan begins to be concerned - not just about Maria being part of his current situation, but also Nathan begins to wonder if even knew his wife at all.

As emotional as this story is, there is more than a bit of mystery and drama when it comes to Maria. She is holding a secret very close, and things slowly begin to reveal themselves. This story is delivered in a nice format. Not only do we have both Nathan's and Maria's points of view, but there is also then and now that goes back and forth.

This touching story was literally impossible to put down. Not only was it very sensitive and heartbreaking, it made me think about my own life, my own family. This book, as in life, however, offers hope, and therefore was very compelling.

This story, as well as the previous ones, always pull at my heartstrings. Every story I read by Kate Hewitt affects me the same way. I highly recommend this book and so look forward to reading much more by this fabulous author.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Kate Hewitt is the bestselling author of many novels of women's fiction, including the Hartley-by-the-Sea series set in the Lake District, the Willoughby Close series set in the Cotswolds, and Tales From Goswell written as Katharine Swartz. Her novel A Mother's Goodbye has been called 'unputdownable' and 'the most emotional book I have ever read' by readers. Not My Daughter and her latest novel, No Time to Say Goodbye are both available to buy now. 

An American ex-pat, she lives in a small market town in Wales with her husband and five young(ish) children, along with their two Golden Retrievers. Join her newsletter for monthly updates and giveaways at http://www.kate-hewitt.com, or be part of her Facebook groups Kate's Reads.  



10 comments:

  1. This isn't something I would typically read but I love books that deal with tragedy. I'll have to check this one out!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm glad that you enjoyed this book! I hope you enjoy your next book just as much.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read a Kate Hewitt book in a while, I used to love her work. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Looks like a really good read.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Lovely review! This is a new author for me.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great review Robin. this is the first time I have heard or seen this book and it looks and sounds absolutely amazing and very intriguing too. I'm really glad you fully enjoyed reading this book. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete
  7. sounds like another book i would enjoy.. thank you!

    ReplyDelete