Sunday, September 29, 2019

BLOG TOUR - The Liar's Sister


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for The Liar's Sister by Sarah A. Denzil.


DESCRIPTION:

A SHOCKING DISAPPEARANCE. A VILLAGE FULL OF SECRETS.

Ten years ago, a boy named Samuel Murray went missing from the quiet village of Buckthorpe and was never seen again.

Rosie Sharpe cried over her missing friend for weeks after.
But her little sister Heather knows that Rosie’s tears hide the truth

Because the night Samuel was last seen, Heather watched her older sister climbing back through the window of their childhood bedroom. Her jacket torn, her eyes wild and her body trembling with fear.

Heather never told anyone what she saw, but secrets can’t stay buried forever…

A decade later, Rosie and Heather return to the home they grew up in when their mother falls ill. But when their house is ransacked and they receive a threatening note, it becomes clear that someone in the close-knit village doesn’t want them there.

When Heather finally confronts her sister about what really happened on the dark, rainy night Samuel vanished, Rosie’s version of the truth is more shocking than she could ever have imagined. But can she trust her sister? And who broke into their house that night? As the lies of the past begin to unravel, they have the power to put the lives of both women in terrible danger…

This twist-filled, page-turning psychological thriller from the million-copy-bestselling author of Silent Child will keep you hooked until the final, jaw-dropping pages. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.


BUY LINKS:
Amazon: https://geni.us/B07TWSDVC9Social
Apple Books:  https://apple.co/2Xy2xTM
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2xxn9kM
Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2JeKVIH


MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   The Liar's Sister
Author:  Sarah A. Denzil
Genre:   Psychological Fiction
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   276
Date of Publication:  September 25, 2017
My Rating:  4.5 Stars

On the one hand when teen Samuel Murray disappeared, life went on as usual. However, this certainly wasn't the case for best friend Rosie Sharpe. She never got over his loss. It is now ten years later, and now Rosie is back home and is facing the real truth of everything.

When Samuel became missing, Heather immediately suspected Rosie because she something that made Rosie look very guilty, but Heather never said a word. Now that both sisters are back home in the village of Buckthorpe, the truth finally begins to reveal itself.

Rosie and Heather do not get along at all, but with their mother being very ill now, they are forced to be together. Things begin happening and as it turns out, Heather is not the only one who suspected that Rosie knew more about what happened. Furthermore, this unknown person is determined to reveal the truth, as well as other hidden facts, but also creates an incredible element of danger that faces them now.

What a story! This certainly was not a family drama, although family had everything to do with it. No, it was full of secrets, twists, danger and murder, and these very things flowed throughout the pages. I found this book to be very interesting and loved how the family dynamics were explored and how the suspense built up until the very end. This is my first read by Sarah A. Denzil, but I love her writing style and cannot wait to see what else she has in store for us readers.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sarah A. Denzil is a British suspense writer from Derbyshire. In her alternative life--AKA Sarah Dalton--she writes speculative fiction for teenagers, including The Blemished, Mary Hades and White Hart.

Sarah lives in Yorkshire with her partner, enjoying the scenic countryside and rather unpredictable weather. 

Saving April, Sarah's debut suspense thriller, is a psychological look into the minds of the people around us who we rarely even consider - our neighbours. What do we really know about them, and what goes on when the doors are closed?

web | facebook | twitter | twitter 

12 comments:

  1. this book looks really good! I need to check it out

    ReplyDelete
  2. I cannot wait to dive in to my audiobook copy. Wonderful review, thank you for giving me that push to buy it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really like the sound of this book. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. this one sounds so thrilling and mysterious, adding this one to my groaning tbr.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review Robin, I've been seeing this book every where's and it looks and sounds absolutely fantastic and right up my alley as well. I'm really glad you fully enjoyed reading this book. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This one looks like one that I would enjoy! Great review!

    ReplyDelete