Saturday, September 19, 2020

Review - Vendetta in Death

Title:  Vendetta in Death
Author:  J.D. Robb
Series:  In Death #49
Genre:  Detective Fiction
Publisher:  Berkley Publishing Group
Format:  Kindle ARC
Date of Publication:  September 3, 2o19
No. of pages:  356
My Rating:  5 Stars


The predator becomes the prey in the newest thriller in the #1 New York Times bestselling series featuring homicide detective Eve Dallas.

She calls herself Lady Justice. And once she has chosen a man as her target, she turns herself into a tall blonde or a curvaceous redhead, makes herself as alluring and seductive as possible to them. Once they are in her grasp, they are powerless.

The first victim is wealthy businessman Nigel McEnroy. His company’s human resources department has already paid out settlements to a couple of his young victims—but they don’t know that his crimes go far beyond workplace harassment. Lady Justice knows. And in one shocking night of brutality, she makes him pay a much steeper price.

Now Eve Dallas and her husband, Roarke, are combing through the evidence of McEnroy’s secret life. His compulsive need to record his misdeeds provides them with a wide range of suspects, but the true identity of Lady Justice remains elusive. It’s a challenging case, made even more difficult by McEnroy’s widow, who reacts to the investigation with fury, denial, and threats. Meanwhile, Lady Justice’s criminal crusade is escalating rapidly, and if Eve can’t stop this vigilante, there’s no telling how much blood may be spilled…


A vicious serial killer calling herself Lady Justice is on the prowl. A master of disguise, this brutal killer has a vendetta against certain individuals and before you know it there the murder of Nigel McEnroy. As Lieutenant Eve Dallas begins her investigation, she queries into the victim's job to see if anyone there wanted him dead. However, due to the brutal nature of his murder, Eve soon finds that she has more questions than answers. 

With husband Roarke and her dedicated team, Eve plows into details of the victim'ms life in order to flush out the killer. Along the way a multitude of suspects are questioned, while whoever this Lady Justice proves to be, more bodies are falling.

This thrilling book in the In Death series follows the pattern of the previous books in this series by providing a well-written story, complex and interesting characters, twists and turns and a riveting conclusion. 

I was just asked whether this series should be read in order and I truly believe that it should. There is a progression of character development and situations that take place over the entirety of the series and if they are not read in order the reader will miss quite a bit. In part, Eve and Roarke. Their pasts. They can only be truly understood if all the books are read as they were published. Another example is Peabody and how she became Eve's partner, as well as her relationship with cop geek McNab. There are other pivotal characters in this series that have come a long way as well.

As soon as I completed this excellent book in this fabulous series, I moved right on to book #50, Golden in Death.

Many thanks to St. Martin's Press and to Edelweiss for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


Nora Roberts was born in Silver Spring, Maryland, the youngest of five children. After a school career that included some time in Catholic school and the discipline of nuns, she married young and settled in Keedysville, Maryland.
She worked briefly as a legal secretary. “I could type fast but couldn’t spell, I was the worst legal secretary ever,” she says now. After her sons were born she stayed home and tried every craft that came along. A blizzard in February 1979 forced her hand to try another creative outlet. She was snowed in with a three and six year old with no kindergarten respite in sight and a dwindling supply of chocolate.
Born into a family of readers, Nora had never known a time that she wasn’t reading or making up stories. During the now-famous blizzard, she pulled out a pencil and notebook and began to write down one of those stories. It was there that a career was born. Several manuscripts and rejections later, her first book, Irish Thoroughbred, was published by Silhouette in 1981.
Nora met her second husband, Bruce Wilder, when she hired him to build bookshelves. They were married in July 1985. Since that time, they’ve expanded their home, traveled the world and opened a bookstore together
Through the years, Nora has always been surrounded by men. Not only was she the youngest in her family, but she was also the only girl. She has raised two sons. Having spent her life surrounded by men, Ms. Roberts has a fairly good view of the workings of the male mind, which is a constant delight to her readers. It was, she’s been quoted as saying, a choice between figuring men out or running away screaming.
Nora is a member of several writers groups and has won countless awards from her colleagues and the publishing industry. Recently The New Yorker called her “America’s favorite novelist.”


  1. Wow 49th in a series, that is some serious going as an author. Glad you enjoyed it. Great review.

  2. I keep meaning to read this pen name version of Nora Roberts. You make it look so appealing!

  3. Amazing review Robin I am really glad you are really enjoying this book series so far in. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.