Saturday, October 1, 2022

BLOG TOUR - Silent Angel

DESCRIPTION:

Step into the cosy Scottish village of Christmas where you’ll find plenty of secrets, romance and mulled wine! And join Merry McKenzie as she stays at her Aunt Ava’s cottage for the winter festivities to try and mend her broken heart…


Thirty-one-year-old Merry is escaping to the Scottish Highlands for Christmas. Heartbroken by the death of her father, the man who raised her single-handedly, she needs some time to heal. Hiding away at Chestnut Cottage with only her Aunt Ava’s menagerie of pets for company seems like the perfect way to spend a peaceful December. But when she arrives, Merry discovers some curious instructions from her aunt asking her to organise Secret Santa gifts for the residents of Christmas village.


Merry’s determined to try and carry out her aunt’s festive task. But on her first night in the little cottage everything goes wrong – including upsetting the handsome local vet Theo Ellis-Lee when he arrives to assist with a crazed turkey and the mischievous rabbit who’s torn apart her aunt’s gift list. Merry is completely out of her comfort zone and it doesn’t help that Theo is both infuriatingly cheerful and insanely attractive.


Merry’s plans for a quiet break are quickly thwarted as Theo starts coming by every day to check on the unruly animals, and she can’t deny he sets her pulse racing. And, one by one, the friendly locals draw her out of her shell with cosy cups of tea, warm words and laughter-filled evenings in the pub. She finds herself embracing the challenge of finding the perfect gift for each of the kind-hearted people on her list. When Theo offers to help, sparks fly between them. But when the Secret Santa project forces Merry to face her heartache, she’s not sure she’s ready for a fresh start.


At a crossroads in her life, will Merry decide to go home and hide from her problems or will she open her heart and stay in Christmas village?


A gorgeous, winter romance to lose yourself in this Christmas. Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Trisha Ashley and Debbie Macomber – and best accompanied by a hot chocolate!


BUY LINKS:

MY THOUGHTS:
 
Title:   Silent Angel
Author: Helen Phifer
Series:  Detective Morgan Brookes #7
Publisher:  
Bookouture
Genre:   Mystery & Thrillers
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   272
Date of Publication:   September 28, 2022
My Rating:   5 Stars

Detective Morgan Brookes and Sergeant Ben Matthews are about to celebrate her birthday. However, a phone call to what turns out to be a gruesome murder scene interrupts their plans. Morgan is hit especially hard when she sees the barely identifiable corpse. Morgan, Ben and their colleagues begin interviews to try and see what they can do to identify the killer. One of those that are interviewed is a visiting vicar.

It doesn't take long for the body to be identified as a missing 17- year old teenager. As Morgan and the others work on this investigation, not only is the vicar on their radars, but they do wonder if perhaps the killer could be among their ranks. Perhaps more than ever before, Morgan can't help but to rely on her sixth sense when it comes to what is going on around them. When a tragedy that is too close to home happens, the Morgan and the others cannot help but be that much more vigilant. 

One thing is for certain. This killer is smart and elusive. Then when another girl named Milly turns up missing, not only must Morgan work even harder to find the identity of the killer, but she must also strive to stay alive at the same time. Helen Phifer has kept this fabulous series strong with excellent stories and compelling characters and always leaves readers for a desire for more.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


Please enjoy my YouTube video review - 



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Donna Ashcroft was born in London, England and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager.

Donna was shortlisted for the RNA Debut Romantic Novel of the Year in 2019, has had nine books published with Bookouture and her tenth is due out in September 2022.

Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she's escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she's not reading or writing she'll probably be found hoovering ... or negotiating with her two teenagers about who is doing the washing up.


No comments:

Post a Comment