Saturday, October 17, 2020

BLOG TOUR - Christmas at Fireside Cabins


DESCRIPTION:

Escape to the idyllic small town of Pinewood Hills in this enchanting romance, about falling in love under the mistletoe with a sprinkle of Christmas magic…

For Lila Evans, Christmas is the toughest time of year––a heartbreaking reminder of losing her father, and just how lonely she is… This year, she’s organized a blissful getaway with her closest friends: just the remedy for the December blues.

The countryside resort of Fireside Cabins, tucked away in the snowy Tennessee hills, seems like this year’s perfect setting to get into the festive spirit. But it’s far from a winter wonderland––the crumbling cottage is falling apart, and the owner, a widow named Eleanor Finely, confesses that the cabins are on the brink of closure. Lila and her friends should pack their bags right there and then, but Lila can’t bear to leave the tearful elderly woman. She clearly has no one, and Lila, more than anyone, knows how that feels.

In search of holiday cheer, the women find a local coffee shop. But the rugged, surly owner Theo Perry has an apparent aversion to Christmas, seeming downright angry when Lila asks for a peppermint latte. No one in the area knows who he is––but it’s clear he’s running from something.

Yet there’s more to this small town than Theo’s frosty reception. As much as his coldness infuriates her, Lila can’t deny that on the rare occasions when he does smile, it feels like coming home. Plus, the cabins are just calling for some festive sparkle.

And, unexpectedly, Pinewood Hills could hold a new beginning for Lila… But can she save Fireside Cabins in time for Christmas? With a dusting of festive magic, spiced apple cider and sugarplum pie, could this be the first holiday she doesn’t spend alone?

Indulge in this glittering page-turner that might just prove, at this magical time of year, that almost anything is possible. Christmas at Fireside Cabins is the perfect holiday treat for fans of Debbie Macomber, Susan Mallery and Sheila Roberts.


BUY LINKS:

MY THOUGHTS:

Title
:   Christmas at Fireside Cabins
Author:  Jenny Hale
Publisher:  Bookouture
Genre:   Romance; Women's Fiction
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   298
Date of Publication:   October 14, 2020  
My Rating:   4 Stars

Lila Evans always has a difficult time during the Christmas season, which is when she lost her father. She heads with a few friends to a countrywide resort, giving them time together. However, as their vacation draws to a close, Lila sticks around the small town in the Tennessee hills. The cabin where they stayed was lovely in many ways, but was also falling apart overall. 

As Lila draws close the the owner, Eleanor Finely, she feels like she has to help Eleanor get the place back up to speed, so she just can't leave. When she was with her friends they went to a no-name coffee shop and after running into the gruff, impersonal owner, Theo Perry, it was any wonder they ever went back. There is something about Theo, however, and Lila finds herself drawn to him. So between Theo and Eleanor, Lila is hard put to leave.

While Lila works out a way to help Eleanor , she begins to notice that there is something deep about Theo that he is hiding. It is this very thing that makes it seem impossible for anything brewing between Theo and Lila to flourish. She does not give up, not with Theo and not with Eleanor. 

In this touching story of friendship, love and hope, I found myself entertained from beginning to end. I enjoyed the slow burn romance, especially when there was more than a bit of mystery regarding Theo. I also enjoyed the characterization in this book. Lila was wonderful, and I felt for Eleanor and loved how close she and Lila became.

I love any book that Jenny Hale writes, and this one is no exception. She writes heartwarming character-driven stories, which always keep me interested. I wanted so much for Lila and for Theo to heal, so they were really the perfect couple, and watching things as they developed gave me such a warm feeling.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jenny Hale is a USA Today, Amazon, and international bestselling author of romantic contemporary fiction. Her books have sold worldwide, have been translated into multiple languages, and adapted for television. Her novels Coming Home for Christmas and Movie Guide Epiphany Award winner Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses are Hallmark Channel original movies.

She was included in Oprah Magazine's "19 Dreamy Summer Romances to Whisk You Away" and Southern Living's "30 Christmas Novels to Start Reading Now." Her stories are chock-full of feel-good romance and overflowing with warm settings, great friends, and family. Jenny is at work on her next novel, delighted to be bringing even more heartwarming stories to her readers.

When she isn't writing, or heading up her romantic fiction imprint Harpeth Road, she can be found running around her hometown of Nashville with her husband, two boys, and their labradoodle, taking pictures--her favorite pastime.

Author Social Media Links:

3 comments:

  1. This sounds so sweet and like the perfect holiday read.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm always looking for festive reads. Thanks for sharing. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  3. christmas reads are always welcome!

    ReplyDelete