Monday, April 1, 2019

BLOG TOUR - The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft.


DESCRIPTION:
The Sunshine Hideaway, with its big bay windows and stunning view of Sunflower Island’s golden beaches, is the only place Madison Skylar has ever truly thought of as home. Could returning to the island be the second chance she needs? 

When twenty-three-year-old Madison arrives at The Sunshine Hideaway, she discovers the beautiful little guesthouse is falling into disrepair. With the help of old friends Amy and Connor, Madison throws herself into creating a gorgeous wellness retreat, introducing yoga sessions, adventure walks and ice-cream sundaes with a delicious twist. But will it be enough to save her childhood home? 


Handsome and mysterious Connor has lived on Sunflower Island his whole life. He works hard as a builder, with his faithful dog Jaws by his side, but something is missing and he dreams of bigger things. As Connor helps to revamp The Sunshine Hideaway, this could be his opportunity to tell the woman he’s secretly been in love with for years how he really feels… 


As spontaneous and fun-loving Madison settles into life on the close-knit island, sparks fly between her and shy Connor as they clash on the reinvention of the guesthouse. Are the they too different to make things work or will Madison and Connor finally find true love this year? 


An utterly perfect, feel-good romance about the power of friendship, the meaning of home and the joy of falling in love in the sunshine. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Debbie Macomber. 
MY THOUGHTS:

Author:  Donna Ashcroft
Genre:   Romance; Women's Fiction
Publisher:   Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  254
Date of Publication:  March 26, 2019
My Rating:  4.5 Stars 

Madison Skylar truly has a chance to come home. That home is Sunflower Island at the Sunshine Hideaway. This could be the second chance she needs. More than that, she just might have a second chance with Connor Robertson. Madison has always been free and open, but returning home just might give her a chance at happiness with Connor. Meanwhile, with his help, and that of another old friend, Amy Walters, they work hard at restoring the Hideaway retreat.

Madison's aunt and uncle own the retreat but are away on vacation. She does what she can to restore it to its former glory, and beyond. The only hardship Madison has while working with Connor, who works hard as a builder, is fighting the attraction she has to him. Connor is looking for something too, and perhaps he has found it in Madison, if only she can let her wanderlust go.

After reading a few psychological thrillers lately, it was a real boon to read such a pleasant story. Not only did I just love Madison, Connor was a terrific character, a man who truly deserved to be loved. Madison is just so good for Connor and I loved watching their relationship grow. I also enjoyed characters such as Amy, Dee and Jesse.

I really enjoyed this book by Donna Ashcroft. It was a delightful read. On a very personal note: I read at least a book a day, most days two. This book, however, took much longer due to some serious issues. Admittedly, at first I bemoaned the length of time it took to read it, but every time I reopened it, it really was like coming home. It is nice to read a book that brings real comfort.  I look forward to reading much more from this author.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Donna Ashcroft was born in London and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager. 

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017. 
Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she's escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she's not reading or writing she'll probably be found hoovering ... or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

Author Social Media Links:
Website: www.donna-writes.co.uk
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonnaAshcroftAuthor/
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Donnashc



12 comments:

  1. Love your review! I have heard about this author before, and I have to say, I'm very curious about her books. I love me a good friends-to-lovers story, and Madison and Connor sound like so much fun! I'm going to check out this book for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love this review. There is nothing better than a book that makes you feel at home.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love the sound of this book. Your review makes me want to grab this one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds like a great spring read before the warm weather actually makes it to the northeast! Haha.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This looks lovely - I wants it

    ReplyDelete
  6. I’m so glad you liked this one, even if it took you time to read it. Sounds like it was an escape for you.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Lovely post. This looks like a cute read!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds like a super cute read.

    ReplyDelete