Saturday, June 18, 2022

BLOG TOUR - Murder at the Country Club


DESCRIPTION:

Kitty Underhay is playing doubles… with death.


Kitty Underhay is accompanying her fiancé, Matthew Bryant,and Bertie, his new cocker spaniel, on an outing to Torbay Country Club. However, the delightful day soon turns to disaster. Walking Bertie in the shaded grotto after an exhilarating archery demonstration, Kitty makes an unsporting discovery: the body of their host, Sir William Winspear, with an arrow in his back.

When the local inspector falls foul interviewing female witnesses, Kitty steps up to the mark. And she quickly discovers that Sir William had threatened one of the guests, dashing Russian dancer Ivan, who is dependent on him for patronage. When Kitty overhears a damning conversation between Ivan and his sister, the case seems clear. But
 the next day Ivan is disqualified as he is found face down in the pool…

The race is on for Kitty to find the real killer, but she must keep her head in the game if she is to outwit this cunning murderer. And 
when the final score comes in, will it be ‘killer: three, Kitty: zero’…?

A completely gripping, suspenseful and utterly cozy historical mystery! The perfect read for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.



BUY LINK:

MY THOUGHTS:
 
Title:   Murder At the Country Club
Author:  Helena Dixon
Series:  A Miss Inderhay Mystery Book 9
Publisher:  Bookouture 
Genre:   Cozy Mystery
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   247
Date of Publication:   June 17, 2021
My Rating:   5 Stars

This engaging read by Helena Dixon gives Kitty Underhay another opportunity to act as an amateur sleuth.  Away for what should be an enjoyable time with her fiancé Matthew Bryant at a posh country club, the body of their host, Sir William Winstead, is found by Kitty. There was an arrow in his back. In fact, before his murder, Sir William proudly displayed his archery skills for all to see. Although the police arrive quickly on scene, Kitty doesn’t hesitate to begin interviewing the other guests, especially as the inspector on scene doesn’t get very far. She soon finds that more than one person had motive for killing Sir William. 

Suspects to consider include the victim’s much younger wife and a brother-and-sister dancing couple from Russia. Even the servants are not above suspicion. However, when the male dancer is also found murdered, things become much more complicated. 

Although this is the ninth book in a thoroughly enjoyable series, readers will be pleased to know that it will work perfectly well as a standalone novel. However, the entire series is a true delight, and will definitely offer many hours of reading pleasure. One thing that makes this series so entertaining is that it is set in the 1930s. The time frame shows that Kitty has to employ crafty skills of deduction as modern conveniences were simply not available at that time. I am truly eager for book ten in the series, Murder on Board, set for release in October. 

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


Please enjoy my YouTube video review - 



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Helena Dixon splits her time between the Black Country and Devon. Married to the same man for over thirty five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, and a crazy cockapoo. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 and Love Story of the Year 2010 as Nell Dixon. She now writes historical 1930's set cozy crime. Nell enjoys hearing from readers and you can read her news and contact her via her website at http://www.nelldixon.com

Social Media
Twitter: https://twitter.com/NellDixon
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/helenadixonuk
Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/helena-dixon

No comments:

Post a Comment