Saturday, April 10, 2021

BLOG TOUR - The Silent Girl



DESCRIPTION:

Sophie wakes in a cold hospital bed with no memory of her life before. She isn’t even sure if Sophie is her real name…

The police tell Sophie she was found alone, unconscious and surrounded by blood-red flower petals, on a remote stretch of highway. She had no I.D., no phone, and no one had reported her missing. But while Sophie’s identity is a mystery, one thing is clear: someone tried to kill her and they almost succeeded.

While she’s recovering, Sophie can’t shake the feeling someone is watching her. When a bouquet of red roses is sent to her room without a note, she is convinced they’re from the same people who left her for dead with crimson flowers woven through her hair…

With no one to turn to, Sophie takes a job working high in the mountains, miles from the nearest town, where she feels she might finally be safe. Until more red flowers begin appearing on the front step of her secluded cottage.

Every cell in Sophie’s body is telling her to run. But she is also desperate to know the truth about who she is. If she lets these people catch up with her, she could finally uncover her past… Or once again place her life in terrible danger…

A totally gripping psychological suspense novel that you won’t be able to put down and will keep you turning the pages late into the night. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Silent Patient.

BUY LINKS:
Amazon: http://ow.ly/p5X750DBAOw
Apple: http://ow.ly/2yO950DBAM8
Kobo: http://ow.ly/sBjQ50DBAJc
Google: http://ow.ly/Hyyv50DBARZ


MY THOUGHTS:
 
Title
:   The Silent Girl
Author:  Kelly Heard
Publisher:  Bookouture
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   341
Date of Publication:   April 9, 2021
My Rating:   4 Stars

Not only does a woman who decides to call herself Sophie wake up in a hospital bed to discover that she has endured serious physical injuries, including being stabbed, it becomes apparent that she has no memory. No idea who she is and why she learns that she was left for dead. The only snippet of memory that Sophie has is the first name of her brother. Quite naturally, Sophie desperately wants to find him and also wants to find any clues to her identity and past.

After some time in the hospital, growing no closer to her identity, Sophie takes a job working at a mansion, one with a dark past. Now working for a man named Nathaniel, Sophie reaches for a feeling of safety, as the has an unexplained sense of foreboding. As time passes, Sophie's living at the isolated mansion she is working to restore comes with a sense of eeriness. In fact, this novel begins to thread together the mystery behind Sophie's past, but also regarding the past of the mansion, thus lending a gothic feel to this story. As Sophie begins to draw close to Nathaniel and to his young son, she has no idea how close she is to danger, especially should her memory be restored.

The character development in this book was spot on. Readers get a good feel of Sophie's nature, despite whatever connections she has in life that led to her circumstances. Nathaniel's character was excellent as well, as his goodness shined through despite his difficult past. I also enjoyed Nathaniel's son Lincoln. He was the bright light in this story. 

The Silent Girl is an engaging and thrilling read, filled with dark suspense and even a bit of spookiness. What is more is that the twists and turns in this book really caught me by surprise. While reading this book, there was no doubt that Sophie would eventually regain her memory, especially due to the fact that she was nearly murdered. The road to these discoveries proved to be shocking, thus leading to a tension filled ending that had me on he edge of my seat. 

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Kelly Heard is a novelist from Afton, Virginia. She published poetry in literary magazines before signing her debut novel, Before You Go, with Bookouture.

Kelly prefers writing to most other pastimes, but you'll occasionally find her in the garden, hiking, or exploring antique shops.

Author Social Media Links:

5 comments:

  1. You have my attention - I wants this one

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one would keep my interest for sure!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like dark suspense books. Sounds fab. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi everyone, my name is Abbie Moore, am from the United States . I want to share my wonderful testimony how I got back my husband back, who I sworn ever to be with until when he left me to another woman for no reason and I try to make things work for both of us yet things where getting worse and I love him so much and there is nothing I could do to get my husband back until I saw a testimony share by a woman called Lauren from Australia on the internet talking about a powerful spell caster called DR. WALE, who brought her husband back within 24hours, so I decide to give it a try and to my greatest surprise he also did it for me just as he did for Lauren and I have a lot of people complaining of fake spell caster but this one I met was a real spell caster who help me to solve my problem I have no solution to, I introduce many of my best friends that have a similar problems, and their problem were solve with the great help of DR. WALE, who help them to get back their lovers within 24 hours. I am so happy that my husband is back to me again, and the most surprising thing is that our love is very strong, every day is happiness and joy. and there is nothing like been with the man you love. I am so happy my love is back to me with the help of DR. WALE. if you have similar problem I will advice you to contact him, he is there to help you and put a smile on your face as he did to me and others you can also WhatsApp him +1(978) 406-9575 or Email him at : everlastingspellcast@gmail.com or view his website for more review https://everlastingspellcaster.website2.me/contact

    ReplyDelete