Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Review - No Fear

Title
:   No Fear
Author:  Casey Kelleher
Publisher:  Bookouture
Series:  DC Lucy Murphy
Genre:   Mystery & Thrillers
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:    289
Date of Publication:   October 6, 2020  
My Rating:   4 Stars

DESCRIPTION:

She wanted to save a life. Now she must fight to save herself.

When DC Lucy Murphy meets Debra, wife of feared drug dealer Gerard Jennings, she sees a young woman in urgent need of help. Brutalised by her husband, Debra is too terrified to tell the police what she knows. But Lucy is determined to bring Gerard down – for Debra’s sake, and the safety of the Griffin Estate.

Meanwhile, after the death of one of his drug runners, Gerard is under pressure from his bosses to prove he’s still up to the job. Facing threats of violence as well as police interest, Gerard is getting desperate – and desperate men are the most dangerous of all.

As Lucy prepares to go undercover in Gerard’s gang to get the evidence she needs to arrest him, her beloved grandmother Winnie starts acting strangely. She mentions a man visiting her at night in her care home, but that makes no sense – does it?

Any distraction could prove deadly for Lucy and the people she’s trying to protect. But she has backed a vicious man into a corner, and he’ll stop at nothing to get what he wants.

A gritty, shocking, action-packed thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Jessie Keane will love this.
MY THOUGHTS:

DC Lucy Murphy may be young in her career, but she is not without experience and wisdom. When she meets the broken and abused wife of a drug dealer, Lucy wants to help, but does not see the danger ahead. 

When Debra Jennings said I do to husband Gerard, she had no idea what was ahead for her. Not only does she realize a little too late that he is a drug dealer, he is a domestic batterer and she spends far too many times receiving emergency treatment for injuries sustained by him. When the police, specifically Lucy Murphy, tries to step in, Debra fears for her life. If Debra is going to deal with Gerard, it will be on her own terms.

Not only is Gerard out of control at home, placing his wife and his sons in danger, things on the "business" end of things are not going well, leaving him something to prove. Little does Gerard know that the police have set a plan in motion - one that will protect his family - and hopefully get the dangerous criminal that he is off of the street. 

For Lucy, not only is she concerned about Debra, but she is striving to care for her grandmother Winnie, who plays a role in this book during her battle with dementia. Hopefully, Lucy won't find herself too distracted with her grandmother to be helpful to Debra, especially as she takes on a very specific role in order to help her. 

No Fear is the second book in the DC Lucy Murphy series and it is no easy read. Gerard is one of the most unlikeable protagonists I have read in a long while. Conversely, Lucy and Debra are strong women who prove to be up to the fight to bring about some important changes. Whether this book lends itself to domestic drama, crime or danger, as well as a combination of all three, it proved to be a nail-biting thriller that captured my attention from beginning to end. 

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole. 

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time. 

For all news and updates:

Twitter: @caseykelleher

1 comment:

  1. Hi everyone, my name is Abbie Moore, am from the United States . I want to share my wonderful testimony how I got back my husband back, who I sworn ever to be with until when he left me to another woman for no reason and I try to make things work for both of us yet things where getting worse and I love him so much and there is nothing I could do to get my husband back until I saw a testimony share by a woman called Lauren from Australia on the internet talking about a powerful spell caster called DR. WALE, who brought her husband back within 24hours, so I decide to give it a try and to my greatest surprise he also did it for me just as he did for Lauren and I have a lot of people complaining of fake spell caster but this one I met was a real spell caster who help me to solve my problem I have no solution to, I introduce many of my best friends that have a similar problems, and their problem were solve with the great help of DR. WALE, who help them to get back their lovers within 24 hours. I am so happy that my husband is back to me again, and the most surprising thing is that our love is very strong, every day is happiness and joy. and there is nothing like been with the man you love. I am so happy my love is back to me with the help of DR. WALE. if you have similar problem I will advice you to contact him, he is there to help you and put a smile on your face as he did to me and others you can also WhatsApp him +1(978) 406-9575 or Email him at : everlastingspellcast@gmail.com or view his website for more review https://everlastingspellcaster.website2.me/contact

    ReplyDelete