Wednesday, October 16, 2019

BLOG TOUR - The Last Wife


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for The Last Wife by Nicola Marsh.

DESCRIPTION:

Trusting his family was her first mistake.

All Ria ever wanted was a family. Growing up alone in foster care, she imagined just how it would be. So when she fell in love with Grayson and had their daughter Shelley, she was determined to make his family love her too. She knew she’d never fit in with her glamorous sisters-in-law, or at the exclusive picture-perfect Chicago parties her mother-in-law threw, but with Grayson’s arm around her waist she tried her best to be a Parker.

Everything changed when Grayson disappeared.

Until one morning, Grayson leaves the house for work and never comes home. Left to raise Shelley alone, Ria is forced to turn to her husband’s family, to let her intimidating mother-in-law into her life, allow her to babysit Shelley, and accept her financial support. She tries to ignore the feeling that her sisters-in-law never thought she was good enough. They say they have no idea what happened to Grayson, and she tries very hard to believe them.

But Ria is about to learn that every Parker wife has secrets.

And protecting her daughter might come at a terrible price…

Utterly compelling, The Last Wife is an emotionally-charged novel about what one woman will do to survive. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Kerry Fisher and The Other Woman.


BUY LINKS:

MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   The Last Wife
Author:  Nicola Marsh
Genre:   Mystery Thrillers
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   332
Date of Publication:  October 11, 2019
My Rating:  4 Stars

Ria Parker has no choice but to be a single mother to ten-year old Shelley. Five years ago, her husband walked out on them. Although not particularly close to her in-laws, Ria remained a part of the family because she felt it was best for Shelley. Her mother in law, May, is the matriarch and had three sons and one daughter. She has always ruled the family with an iron fist.

Ria's sisters-in-law do not treat her or Shelley well at all. Thankfully, May fawns over them, and although uncomfortable at family events, Ria does attend. Shelley loves her cousins and her grandmother, and this does please Ria. However, May has an announcement to make and this affects each and every one of them, albeit in different ways.

Beyond May's shocking announcement, Ria begins getting some difficult emails. While this happens, accidents begin happening to some family members. Ria is certain said accidents are connected to the emails she received. The drama that ensues will change everyone's life beyond what anyone could have imagined.

This was an incredibly tense book! The Last Wife reminded me of the 90's night-time soap operas. It was a very dramatic story, one that dug deep inside of a not-so-perfect family. There was someone pulling strings and was seemingly uncaring of the long-term effects on others. This intriguing story was a very good, very quick read for me, and I was rather shocked at who the manipulator was, and also the ending.


Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

USA TODAY bestselling & multi-award winning author Nicola Marsh writes feel-good fiction with a twist!

She has published 68 books with Harlequin, Amazon and indie, and sold over 8 million copies worldwide.

She currently writes women's fiction/rural romance for Harper Collins Australia Mira imprint, emotional domestic suspense for Bookouture and contemporary romance for Harlequin Dare.

Her first mainstream contemporary romance, BUSTED IN BOLLYWOOD released to rave reviews, including a nomination for RWA's RBY, Romantic Book of the Year. 

Her first indie-pubbed contemporary romance CRAZY LOVE is an Amazon and Barnes & Noble bestseller, and was nominated for an ARRA award.

Her women's fiction novel SAVING SARA with Lake Union hit the #1 kindle romance spot on Amazon UK.

Her young adult fantasy SCION OF THE SUN won a National Readers' Choice Award for Best YA novel.

She's also a Waldenbooks, Bookscan and Barnes & Noble bestseller, a RBY and National Readers' Choice Award winner, is a multiple finalist for awards including the Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award, HOLT Medallion, Booksellers' Best, Golden Quill, Laurel Wreath, More than Magic and has won several CataRomance Reviewers' Choice Awards. 

A physiotherapist for 13 years, she now adores writing full time, raising her two dashing young heroes, sharing fine food with family and friends, barracking loudly for her beloved North Melbourne Kangaroos footy team, and her favourite, curling up with a good book!

 web | twitter | facebook

13 comments:

  1. This sounds good. I think I have it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Family drama - the struggle is real!

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds really good. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Glad you enjoyed it! Wasn't a big fan of this novel.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review! Sounds like a book my sister in law would love 😉

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great review, now I am really intrigued and want to have this book in my hands like now after reading your review. I'm really glad you fully enjoyed reading this book. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete