Saturday, October 6, 2018

BLOG TOUR - The Christmas Café at Seashell Cove


I am more than pleased to share in this Blog Tour for The Christmas Café at Seashell Cove by Karen Clarke.


Description: 
       
It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas at the Café at Seashell Cove, where there’s hot chocolate to keep you warm – and the man of your dreams could be waiting…

Interior designer Tilly Campbell loves being carefree and single. But her latest job is redecorating the cosy local café for a Christmas party, and when her friends confess their plans for the big night – including a proposal, a declaration of love and a pregnancy announcement – Tilly starts to wonder if she might be missing out…

Transforming the café into a winter wonderland is more of a challenge than she thought, so when she bumps into gorgeous newcomer Seth, Tilly welcomes the distraction. Seth is a single father, struggling to settle his son Jack into their new cottage, and Tilly is determined to help them make their house into a home in time for Christmas.

But with the café still in chaos just days before the party it looks like it’s going to be a Christmas to remember for all the wrong reasons… With friends old and new relying on her, can Tilly save the Christmas party?

And could she finally find love waiting for her under the mistletoe?

A heart-warming, hilarious read about friendship, family and the meaning of Christmas. Perfect for fans of Sue Moorcroft, Holly Martin and Debbie Johnson!


My Review:

TitleThe Christmas Café at Seashell Cove
Author:  Karen Clarke
Series:  Seashell Cove #3
Genre:  Romance, Women's Fiction
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  303
Date of Publication: October 5, 2018
My rating:  4.5 Stars

Tilly is a woman without a job. But, she certainly has a passion for interior designing. Currently she is renovating at the café in the picturesque sea town of Seashell Cove and is under all sorts of pressure. Meanwhile she runs into Seth Donovan, former race car driver. She manage to save his young son and he is indebted to her. On the home front, Tilly is dating Rufus. At thirty years of age, she truly wonders if this could possibly be her first "real relationship". Also, Tilly's sister, Bridget, and little niece are now living back at home.

Tilly learns very quickly that although Seth really wants to repay her for saving his son, that she herself has some saving to do. What she proposes to do to help Seth is genuinely kind, even if it means the man who possibly may have snagged her heart might never, ever be hers. All the while, Seth likes Tilly very much. However, he must contend with his role as a father and with his overbearing mother.

The relationships explored in this book are warm and endearing. We are privy to the difficulties that fatherhood brings to Seth and why. We also watch the difficult relationship between Tilly and Bridget ride so many waves. With their age difference and circumstances, as well as the fact that Seth is now in both of their lives, there is the firm question as to whether or not the sisters can actually ever become friends. Lastly, the relationship between Tilly and her friends is absolutely wonderful. They have found love and fulfillment in their lives, and watching the three women together is touching and rewarding.

The Christmas Café at Seashell Cove is a wonderfully sweet romance story. Both Tilly and Seth are truly endearing characters and I could not help but to be drawn to both of them. There is a lot of angst and pressure as to whether or not Tilly and Seth will ever find a way to each other. The hurdles they face are numerous. Despite this, the story had quite a few humorous moments and I actually found myself giggling more than once. The comic relief in this book was Gwen, the Café owner. What a hoot! On the flip side, there was Felicity, Seth's mother. The tit-for-tat between Tilly and Felicity was quite fun, despite the seriousness of the situation facing Seth and his son.

Not only did this story flow really well, but it pulled on my heartstrings. Ultimately, this is happy story with a delightfully happy ending. This is the third in the Seashell Cove series, of which I had the pleasure of reading the second book. Each story, however, does well as a standalone, but certainly do not hesitate to grab up this entire series and find an enjoyable few days devouring each title.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC in exchange for a honest review.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Karen is the author of the popular BEACHSIDE and SEASHELL COVE series of romantic comedies, published by Bookouture. 

She's also written three romcoms with a paranormal twist, all available to download

When she's not working on her novels, Karen writes short stories for women's magazines and has had over three hundred published globally. Some of them can be read in her short story collection 'BEHIND CLOSED DOORS...and other Tales with a Twist'.

Karen lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children, and when she's not writing loves reading, walking, baking and eating cake.
Author Social Media Links: 



21 comments:

  1. Sounds like an all-around feel-good story for the holidays. Love cozies! Thanks for a great review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a good Christmas read. I'm not ready to even think about Christmas yet though.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love festive stories. Great tour stop.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This will be perfect when the holidays come around. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ah! Christmas books already! I have to avert my eyes; I am not ready for it all! lol

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thank you for the review, but I like scary books.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I might want to read something sweet like this over the holidays. Thanks for putting it on my radar!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Katelynne. I hope you get to read this.

      Delete
  8. I love Christmas books. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great review, this book looks like a really sweet and fun book and this book is the first time I heard about it as well. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete