Monday, August 1, 2022

BLOG TOUR - The Mother-in-Law


DESCRIPTION:

Today is my wedding day. And I don’t know if I’ll make it out alive…

As I put my beautiful white wedding dress on, I try not to ignore my fears. I look in the mirror and feel more beautiful than I ever have before. I know marrying Sam is the right choice. He’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

I reach for my bright yellow roses, and I force myself to be as cheerful and sunny as those flowers. I won’t dwell on everything that’s happened recently – ever since we agreed to stay with his parents for the weeks ahead of the wedding.

Glancing down at my sparkling engagement ring, I pretend to myself I can forget about the ‘accidents’ I keep having, that I can’t believe are coincidental. Or about his mother’s barbed comments, and the dark looks she gives me.

And, just for today, while I walk down the aisle towards the man of my dreams, while I say ‘I do’, I’ll try to put the secret I know about the family I am marrying into right out of my mind.

Even though that’s one secret that – if I was my soon-to-be mother-in-law – I might just kill to keep…

An absolutely thrilling and gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Shari Lapena, and The Woman in the Window.

BUY LINKS:
MY THOUGHTS:
 
Title:   The Mother-in-Law
Author:  Karen King
Publisher:  Bookouture
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   271
Date of Publication:   July 29, 2022
My Rating:   4 Stars

What a thrilling ride! This book starts off right after the vows are shared at a wedding. However, our bride, Dana, is on the floor and is passing out, possibly dying. She is suffering from an allergic reaction, and before she does fade out, she locks eyes with her brand new mother-in-law.

But, then, our book takes us back to six months previously. Sam and Dana began dating, and soon became engaged. Sam and Dana are truly in love, and their lives are about to start as a married couple before too long. However, things do not go smoothly. In fact, there are several hiccups, and these are major.

Sam still lives at home with his parents and Dana has her own place. But, the couple want to buy a home together. When something happens to their impending purchase, Dana has no choice but to move in with Sam and his parents. While not all that comfortable at first, Dana is rather relieved to see that Sam has a nice wing, with its own rooms. Maybe this won't be so bad. After all, they will marry soon and they will buy their own home.

However, one thing is more than clear. Sam's mother Evelyn is very controlling and gaslighting is rampant. No matter how small or how big the conflicts occur between Evelyn and Dana, Sam is convinced that his mother only means well. In fact, there are even times when Sam dismisses Dana's concerns. Dana just wants to marry Sam, so she endures trial after trial when it comes to Evelyn. She feels that their time living in the same house is only for a rather short duration and she doesn't want the rest of their lives soured by her having a bad relationship with Evelyn.

With surprising twists and turns, things go from bad to worse. This engaging read takes a sharp turn, one that was incredibly shocking, only to make this intriguing book even more compelling. The Mother-in-Law is a wonderful domestic thriller that kept me riveted from beginning to end.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


Please enjoy my YouTube video review - 



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Karen King is a multi-published author of both adult and children’s books. Currently published by Bookouture and Headline, Karen writes about the light and dark of relationships. Her eleventh romantic novel, The Spanish Wedding Disaster, has recently been published and her third psychological thriller The Mother In Law is out in July, with a fourth one in February 2023.

Karen has also had 120 children’s books, two young adult novels, and several short stories for women’s magazines published. Her thrillers The Perfect Stepmother and The Stranger in my Bed and her romantic novel The Cornish Hotel by the Sea became International Amazon bestsellers.

Karen is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, the Society of Authors, the Crime Writers’ Association and the Society of Women Writers and Journalists. She now lives inSpain where she loves to spend her non-writing time exploring the quaint local towns with her husband, Dave, when she isn’t sunbathing or swimming in the pool, that is.


Author Social Media Links
Website: http://www.karenking.net/
Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/karen-king

2 comments:

  1. Oh my goodness, your lovely reviews - both written and the fabulous YouTube one - have made my day. 🥰 Thank you so much for doing this. 😘😘

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a applicable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vivid clear idea. criminal lawyers near me

    ReplyDelete