Wednesday, December 1, 2021

BLOG TOUR - The Hostage


DESCRIPTION:

“You get us what we want. Or your wife dies. And we will make it hurt.”

Jerome Prentice is a good guy. Loyal to a fault, he always stays on the right side of the law.

But everything changes the night he is awoken by the sound of masked kidnappers entering his home. Holding him at gunpoint, they drag his beloved wife Alicia out of the house with a promise to kill her if he goes to the police. Their demand: betray the company he’s worked for his entire adult life.

They think he’ll do anything to save his wife. But they don’t know that they’re messing with the wrong man. Because Jerome might be a good guy. But betrayal doesn’t come easily to him. And he’s not a man who will go down without a fight.

What’s more, he will hunt the people who’ve taken Alicia to the ends of the earth. And if they’ve hurt even one hair on her head, he’s going to make them pay…

This utterly page-turning, jaw-dropping thriller is perfect for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Mark Dawson.

BUY LINKS:

https://geni.us/B09DPZCZ2Nsocial

Audible:
UK: zpr.io/C9Y7JxMtkpH3
US: zpr.io/G2nPDjSvkMRA

https://soundcloud.com/bookouture/the-hostage-by-john-ryder-narrated-by-josh-wichard

MY THOUGHTS:
 
Title:   The Hostage
Author:  John Ryder
Publisher:  Bookouture
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   313
Date of Publication:  November 25, 2021 
My Rating:   4 Stars

If desperate times call for desperate measures, then I'm free to act as desperately as I wish. These words by Shakespeare sum up this thrilling book by John Ryder. Jerome Prentice and his wife Alicia were accosted. However, they let Jerome go and kept Alicia. In fact, they kept her in stark fear. Why did they let Jerome go? 

The kidnappers are certain of one thing. Jerome will go to the ends of the earth to get Alicia back. They were right. Jerome may have been a law-abiding citizen his entire life, but that changes when Alicia was taken right before his eyes. 

The kidnapper's demands are murky, leading Jerome down many a dark path while he strives to get Alicia back safely. But, he follows the instructions the best he can until he has had enough. He will get Alicia back - and by any means necessary. Actually, from the outset, this is exactly what the kidnappers told Alicia. They said to her: "You sell your husband short. He's not one hundred percent the man you think he is. You may think he's lily-white, but his hands are far dirtier than you think. Than perhaps even he realizes. You and he have been deliberately selected."

Alicia is terrified. Jerome is terrified. Who are the kidnappers and what do they want? What do they mean when they say that Jerome is not the man Alicia thinks he is? What do they have in mind and why is it that this couple is part of their nefarious plans?

What a thrilling book! Imagine being woken from a deep sleep. Guns pointed at you. In this case, a gun pointed at Jerome. A gun pointed at Alicia. Instructions given at the outset, and that included no police involvement. Jerome became a desperate man. A man desperate to save his wife. A man desperate enough to take any action imagined or unimagined as long as it meant one day soon having Alicia in his arms again.

While this story was fast-paced with an uncertain conclusion, one thing rang clear - Jerome and Alicia loved each other beyond words - and it was that love that gave them strength as they found their way back to one another. Factor in their strong bond and the actions Jerome took, and this exciting story came to a thrilling conclusion.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

John Ryder is a former farmworker and joiner. He’s turned his hand to many skills to put food on the table and clothes on his back. A life-long bibliophile, he eventually summoned the courage to try writing himself, and his Grant Fletcher novels have drawn inspiration from authors such as Lee Child, Tom Cain, Zoe Sharp and Matt Hilton. When it comes to future novels, he says he has more ideas than time to write them.

When not writing, John enjoys spending time with his son, reading and socialising with friends. A fanatic supporter of his local football team, he can often be found shouting encouragement to men much younger and fitter than he is.


1 comment:

  1. I enjoy this author's work, I need to pick this one up.

    ReplyDelete