Monday, June 15, 2020

BLOG TOUR - I Know Your Secret


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for I Know Your Secret by Ruth Heald. 

DESCRIPTION:

You’re not who you say you are. Neither is she.

She thinks she knows me.

She believes my marriage is falling apart at the seams, that my husband can barely look me in the eyes. She thinks I’m desperate for a baby, that my longing for a family keeps me up at night. As much as I hate to admit it, all of this is true.

She thinks I listen to her advice, that I care about her opinion. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

Because she has no idea who I am. She has no clue that I know everything.

I know her secret. I know that she did the unforgivable. I know how many lives she ruined.

I know exactly what she did. And I’m here for her.

An utterly gripping, addictive and shocking read about the dark secrets we’re ashamed to admit, and the lengths people go to for revenge. Fans of K.L. Slater, My Lovely Wife and The Wife Between Us will be racing through the pages, gasping at the twists, and reeling from the explosive ending of this unmissable page-turner.


MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   I Know Your Secret
Author:  Ruth Heald
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   278
Date of Publication:  June 10, 2020
My Rating:  4 Stars

Two lives based on events of the past. Two women who are not who they say they are. Life appears perfect for one and a bit unstable to the other. When they converge, is it by accident or by design?

The women are Beth, a marriage counselor who has a young child and who has been recently dumped. Then we have Danielle, a woman who has a face covered with burn scars, and who is a successful lawyer with a struggling marriage and who has recently become pregnant. As things develop, it becomes clear that the scars Danielle has many more scars than the ones on her face. 

Grief is a huge factor in this book. In fact, it is grief in different fashions that drive both Beth and Danielle. How is up the reader to discover. Another equally huge factor in this book is revenge Again, the reader will ascertain how grief and revenge affect Beth and Danielle, and how their lives converge.

This is the third book that I have read by Ruth Heald. She manages to craft intriguing family dramas that bring in very disturbing factors. This is all done at a remarkably fast pace, which always leads to a riveting conclusion.

While reading this book I just knew the women were connected to the past and that their lives had converged at more than one point The fun thing about reading this book is the path that led them to their connection in the present. In true psychological thriller fashion, I Know Your Secret, this book  delivered different viewpoints of unreliable narrators. 

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Ruth Heald is a psychological thriller writer from a suburban Buckinghamshire town. She studied Economics at Oxford and then worked in an eclectic mix of sectors from nuclear decommissioning to management consulting.

Seeking a more creative environment, she found a role at the BBC and worked there for nine years before leaving to write full time. Ruth is fascinated by psychology and finding out what drives people to violence, destruction and revenge. She’s married with one daughter and her novels explore our greatest fears in otherwise ordinary, domestic lives.



web | twitter | facebook

6 comments:

  1. Thanks for putting this on my radar. I love unreliable narrators!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Amazing review this book looks and sounds like my kind of book. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post and for putting this book on my radar.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I enjoyed this too, it was my first time reading this crafty author

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like the sound of this one!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think I need to read this book

    ReplyDelete