Saturday, January 20, 2024

Review - Ruby Fever

Title:   Ruby Fever
Author:  Ilona Andrews 
Series:  Hidden 
Legacy #6
Publisher:  Avon
Genre:   Urban Fantasy
Format:  Kindle ARC 
No. of Pages:   384
Date of Publication:   August 23, 2022
My Rating:   4 Stars


#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews is back with the newest book in the exciting Hidden Legacy series—the thrilling conclusion to her trilogy featuring fierce and beautiful Prime magic user Catalina Baylor.

An escaped spider, the unexpected arrival of an Imperial Russian Prince, the senseless assassination of a powerful figure, a shocking attack on the supposedly invincible Warden of Texas, Catalina’s boss... And it’s only Monday.

Within hours, the fate of Houston—not to mention the House of Baylor—now rests on Catalina, who will have to harness her powers as never before. But even with her fellow Prime and fiancĂ© Alessandro Sagredo by her side, she may not be able to expose who’s responsible before all hell really breaks loose.

Ilona Andrews (husband and wife writing team. Ilona and Andrew Gordon) have created an amazing series. Ruby Fever is the sixth book in the Hidden Legacy series. The first three books in the series, as well as a novella, have been reviewed here. The titles are Burn for Me, White Hot, Wildfire and Diamond Fire. This trilogy and novella are Nevada Baylor and Connor Rogan's story. They meet under strange circumstances - Connor kidnaps Nevada. 

Some background.  The Hidden Legacy series is Urban Fantasy set in an alternate universe. Members of the families have received a special serum that gives them magic powers. Coming into these powers proves no easy task, and so we meet Nevada and her family.

Nevada is a private investigator and has been hired to bring a missing man back to his family. She has competition in the form of Connor "Mad" Rogan, who is also searching for the missing man, and he ultimately kidnaps Nevada. The pair soon decide to combine their energy and talents and work together to locate the missing man. 

As I am not a frequent reader of urban fantasy, understanding this world that Andrews built took some doing. To basically understand it, there is a political system of sorts, or a dynasty, and this involves Houses, powers, levels and other things. It is after Nevada is kidnapped that she starts to understand her powers and special skills. Her talent is knowing when someone is lying, and this enhances her ability to achieve whatever task is in front of her. Meanwhile, she has started to fall for Connor, who is a Prime, the highest rank. In fact, his rank is so high that Nevada's talents do not work on him. 

This urban fantasy develops an intense romantic entanglement between Nevada and Connor, and all the while the pair face danger at every turn. This trilogy closes with the novella, Diamond Fire, where Nevada and Conner get married. This is where Catalina takes over the series, this this series segues into another trilogy with accompanying novellas. 

Catalina's story starts with the first book in the new trilogy which could be called Hidden Legacy Series 2, Sapphire Flames.  The torch has been passed to Catalina, Nevada's younger sister. She has magic powers and unique skills, just like Nevada, and the family lives and operates among normal people in the alternate universe this series is set in. Catalina's rank is the highest, Prime, so she is the Head of her House. Her powers allow her to get any information that she seeks. 

The third book in this trilogy is Emerald Blaze. Catalina has since met Allesandro, and their story is growing. Not only do the couple have amazing chemistry, they face danger at every turn, all while the action never once lets up. 

This fabulous story had action from the very start, and never lost its momentum until the exciting conclusion. This series revolves around a crime syndicate, power, money and the paranormal 

Many thanks to Avon and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


“Ilona Andrews” is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing team. Ilona is a native-born Russian and Gordon is a former communications sergeant in the U.S. Army. Contrary to popular belief, Gordon was never an intelligence officer with a license to kill, and Ilona was never the mysterious Russian spy who seduced him. They met in college, in English Composition 101, where Ilona got a better grade. (Gordon is still sore about that.)

Gordon and Ilona currently reside in Texas with their two children and many dogs and cats.

They have co-authored four NYT and USAT bestselling series, the #1 NYT bestselling urban fantasy of Kate Daniels, rustic fantasy of the Edge, paranormal romance of Hidden Legacy, and Innkeeper Chronicles, which they post as a free weekly serial. For complete list of their books, fun extras, and Innkeeper installments, please visit their website at

No comments:

Post a Comment