Thursday, January 30, 2020

BLOG TOUR - Mystery on Hidden Lane


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for Mystery on Hidden Lane by Clare Chase.


DESCRIPTION:

Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to tell the life story of famed musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A chance to spend a few days in the sweet little village of Saxford St Peter, walking the country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people sounds like a dream. But it turns out that Bernard’s life was much less interesting than his death. On the day she arrives, news breaks that the charismatic cellist was the victim of a grisly murder. Could this quaint English village be hiding a dark secret?

As Eve starts to interview Bernard’s friends and colleagues, she finds that he’d ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn to his own staff at High House, there’s barely a person in town who doesn’t have some reason to hate him… is one of the friendly villagers a cold-blooded killer?

Eve hoped Saxford St Peter would be the perfect escape from her busy city life. But there is darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. And when a second body is found, Eve becomes certain that one of the people she’s met must be the murderer. She has never done any detective work before… but is there something in her notes that can crack the case?

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.


BUY LINKS:
https://geni.us/B07ZVYJ8WJSocial


MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   Mystery on Hidden Lane
Author:  Clare Chase
Series:  Eve Mallow Mystery #1
Genre:   Cozy Mystery
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   296
Date of Publication:   January 30, 2019
My Rating:   4 Stars

Eve Mallow is an obituary writer with an extended assignment. She is not only going to write an obituary, she is to write musician Bernard Fitzpatrick's life story. Eve figures that spending time in a small village where Bernard was well known will be enable her to come up with enough detail about his life to do a good job.


She takes her dog Gus along for the trip and she is off. Unfortunately, Eve is not able to turn up much about Bernard's life. Shockingly, Eve learns that his death was actually due to murder and her questions about his life - now death - take on a different turn.


Eve now becomes an amateur sleuth because as she starts interviewing people she learns some unsavory things about Bernard. Things are not adding up. What is more is that another body is found in the idyllic town she is in and Eve now knows that at least one of the people she has been interviewing is indeed a murderer.


I love cozy mysteries and Mystery on Hidden Lane is the first book in a new series that I just know that I will enjoy. Eve's character is perfect, the setting is ideal and the mysteries abound. I look forward to meeting Eve again and seeing what she gets into, because, as is the case with any cozy mystery series, our protagonist will always find murder close at hand. Her job as an obituary writer will most likely be the angle used in future cases. Clare Chase is a new author to me and I am glad to have read this book. I look forward to reading Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage upon its release in March.


Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries. After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She's fascinated by the city's contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She's worked in diverse settings - from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons - and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people's books.

You can find Clare's website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/


10 comments:

  1. Thanks so much again for this lovely review, Robin, and for taking part in the tour.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Glad you enjoyed it so much. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  3. New name for me - you find the coolest tales!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I think this would be the perfect rainy day mystery!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for sharing! Nothing beats an unputdownable book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I still haven't gotten into cozy mysteries yet but I really need to give them a try!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Amazing review Robin, this is the first time I have heard or seen this book and author and the book looks and sounds absolutely fantastic and right up my alley as well. I'm really glad you fully enjoyed reading this book. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Looks like a good cozy read.

    ReplyDelete
  9. that is a nice twist of events for the amateur sleuth!

    ReplyDelete