Friday, January 17, 2020

BLOG TOUR - The Day That Changed Everything


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for The Day That Changed Everything by Catherine Miller.


DESCRIPTION:

When you lose the love of your life, how do you find yourself again?

For Tabitha, the day that changed everything started like any other.

She woke up, slid her feet into fluffy slippers, wrapped herself in a dressing gown and tiptoed out of her bedroom, leaving her husband Andy sleeping. Downstairs, she boiled the kettle and enjoyed a cup of tea as the sun rose.

Upstairs, Andy’s alarm sounded, and Tabitha took him a freshly brewed coffee, like every other morning. Except today, the incessant beeping rang out and her husband hadn’t stirred. She called his name, she nudged his shoulder. But Andy wouldn’t wake up.

Three years later Tabitha is trying her hardest to get by in the shadow of her grief. She may have lost the love of her life but she won’t give up on the family they dreamed of. Fostering troublesome teenage girls and a newborn baby is a chance to piece together her broken heart.

But being a mother isn’t easy, and neither is healing the heartache she carries around. After losing everything, could saving these three children help Tabitha save herself too?

This stunning tale will make you laugh and cry in equal measure, hold your loved ones close and see the beauty in the little things in life. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will love this moving and uplifting story.


BUY LINKS:
Amazon: https://bit.ly/3a1vqiG
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2TmYYSb
Apple Books: https://apple.co/36RPSkh
Google Play: https://bit.ly/35Qq5ra


MY THOUGHTS:

Title:   The Day That Changed Everything
Author:  Catherine Miller
Genre:   Women's Fiction
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   253
Date of Publication:   January 17, 2020
My Rating:   5 Stars

Every time I hear the expression love of your life, I am reminded of Grey's Anatomy and how Derrick was that to Meredith. Well, in this story by Catherine Miller, Tabitha is trying to get past the loss of the one special and perfect man in her life, her husband Andy. Shockingly, Tabitha discovers that Andy had died in his sleep. This one scene alone was heartbreaking.

As the story continues, a few years have passed and Tabitha has started an entirely new life. She has decided to become a foster parent. Her first foster children are fifteen-year-old twin girls. Although they give her a run for her money, she holds on tight to be as good as this as possible. When she is asked to foster a newborn, Tabitha realizes that things are going to be even harder, but she is up to the task.

I was floored by this novel by Catherine Miller. After all, when a woman whose heart was completely broken opened her home to take in children, well, that was enough for me to be fully committed and truly affected as I was reading The Day That Changed Everything.

This book felt to me as an exploration of the human heart and its capacity for love. Not only that, but it also proved to be one of second chances and starting over. I have perused Catherine Miller's backlist, as this is my first book by her,  which I devoured in one sitting, and it will most certainly not be my last. 

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016. Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published. 


12 comments:

  1. Glad to see your excellent review, I have this one in my calendar

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've been needing a short,great book (I like to reset with short books in between the longer ones I read). Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great review. This sounds majorly emotional.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow, this sounds poignant. Great review, Robin.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This looks like a fantastic read. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds like a heart-squeeze book. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds like a book for warming my heart.. thank you for the review

    ReplyDelete
  8. Amazing review Robin, this book looks and sounds absolutely fantastic and amazing. I'm really glad you fully enjoyed reading this book, thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great review! This book sounds so full of emotion.

    ReplyDelete
  10. This sounds like it would have me in tears and loving it at the same time. Great review!

    ReplyDelete