Saturday, December 14, 2019

BLOG TOUR - The Argument


Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for The Argument by Victoria Jenkins.



DESCRIPTION:


It happens to every mother. One day, the daughter whose whole world you once were, becomes someone you barely know. And you don’t know the secrets she’s hiding…

One night, 15-year-old Olivia comes home late from a party she was strictly forbidden from going to, and she and her mother, Hannah, start arguing. Soon Olivia speaks the words that every parent has heard from their teenage child:

‘I hate you. You’ve ruined my life. And I’m never speaking to you again.’

Olivia has never been an easy child, a sharp contrast to her easy-going, happy-go-lucky little sister. But Hannah thinks Olivia’s outburst is the end of a normal family argument. In fact, it’s only the beginning of a nightmare…

After one day of silence, Hannah thinks Olivia is taking a teenage sulk too far. After two days, she starts to feel anxious that something more serious could be going on. After a week, when her daughter still hasn’t spoken, Hannah knows that Olivia is hiding a bigger darkness – something that could threaten to tear their precious family apart…

The Argument is an unputdownable psychological thriller that asks how far we can push our families before they finally break. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, The Woman in the Window, and The Silent Patient.


BUY LINKS:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07YCPXL2FSocial
Apple Books: https://apple.co/2mUlIKN
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2lJrf74
Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2ljeMqo



MY THOUGHTS:


Title:   The Argument
Author:  Victoria Jenkins
Genre:   Psychological Thriller
Publisher:  Bookouture
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:   235
Date of Publication:  December 10, 2019
My Rating:  5 Stars

Okay, any parent of teens know what silent treatment is. That is the premise of this incredible psychological thriller by Victoria Jenkins.

Olivia, 15-years-old, came home from a party late one night. She knew she was going to be in big trouble, but she really didn't care. However, her actions led to a major rift with her mother and they then got into a huge argument. Olivia leaves the room furiously, determined not to speak to her mother any time soon. Ever, in fact.

Her mother, Hannah, has a hard time trying to figure out why Olivia is so different from her younger sister, Rosie. Olivia is headstrong, argumentative and difficult. Conversely, Rosie is sweet and gentle. The girls get along just fine. However, Olivia does not get along well with their parents.

Hannah thinks things will blow over in a few days and then get back to normal. After a week or so passes, she becomes very unsure. Her husband is always working away from home, leaving Hannah with the bulk of care when it comes to their home and daughters.

A family drama? Is that what this book is? Notice the genre, a psychological thriller. Why is that? Things become revealed in this story. Shocking, jaw-dropping things. I do not want leave a single spoiler in this review. Suffice it to say that the author has floored me with this story. It took a sharp turn at some point. So sharp in fact that it took my breath away. I nearly dropped my device because I was so thrown off. So, kudos to Ms. Jenkins for cutting me off at the knees with this fantastic book. I cannot wait to see what she has to offer next to us greedy readers.

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Victoria Jenkins lives with her husband and daughter in South Wales, where her series of crime novels featuring Detectives King and Lane is based. Her debut novel The Girls in the Water is an Amazon UK top 30 bestseller, and top 5 bestseller in the Amazon US chart.

Her first psychological thriller, The Divorce, was published in July 2019. The second, The Argument, publishes December 10th 2019.



7 comments:

  1. I love when stories have that shock factor that leaves you flabbergasted. I take it this is what happened with this book. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review, as the mother of two teenagers and another who has been through his teens about is now in his 20s, this book sounds like something I should read.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like a very interesting book :) Thanks for sharing your review! I'm adding it to my TBR now.

    ReplyDelete