Friday, June 14, 2024

BLOG TOUR - The Woman at My Wedding


I’ve dreamed of this day forever. But will it be my last?

My stomach flutters as I try on my shimmering wedding dress with my two closest friends. In just a few weeks I’m going to marry the man of my dreams. I can’t believe the next time 
Nathan sees me it’ll be when I walk down the aisle. I’ve never told him my real name, and I hate lying to him. But it’s for his own good, and nobody could love him more than me. I’ve been through so much; don’t I deserve this happiness?

As I’m gazing at my reflection in the mirror, there’s a knock on the door and when I open it my heart leaps into my throat. Right in front of me is 
someone I hoped I’d never see again: my mother-in-law.

Nathan doesn’t speak to her, and the estrangement has been a huge relief to me. Because Debbie knows my secret. And she could ruin everything…

From the moment she sweeps in, it’s clear that if I don’t let my mother-in-law stay, she won’t stay quiet about my dark past. But 
she has no idea how far I’ll go to stop her destroying everything I’ve worked for.

But when I realise my friends have been lying to me too, I wonder if my mother-in-law is really the person I need to worry about. 
Is there another woman in my life who is determined not only to ruin my wedding, but to take my life?

An utterly heart-pounding and nail-biting new novel from bestseller L.G. Davis. This twisty, gasp-out-loud thriller is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Teresa Driscoll and Freida McFadden.


Title:   The Woman at My Wedding
Author:  L.  G. Davis
Series:  Broken Vows #1
Publisher:  Bookouture 
Genre:   Psychological Thriller 
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  297
Date of Publication:  June 13, 2024
My Rating:   4 Stars


Brynn has recently moved to Stoneview, and despite having a rather stressful career, she is beyond thrilled that she is about to marry Nathan, a successful lawyer. Her marriage to Nathan will open a lot of doors for her, including the fact that she will have more money than she ever dreamed of.

Brynn is happy with those whom she chose to stand with her at her wedding, including Hannah, who will be her maid of honor. Brynn is also over the moon that she has befriended Eleanor, an old friend of Nathan’s, and someone she feels extremely comfortable with.

There is more than one hitch in Brynn’s wedding plans. These include the arrival of Debbie, and although she and Brynn share bad blood, Debbie acts as if everything is okay, sets her bags down and progressively makes Brynn more nervous. Debbie’s arrival is only the tip of the iceberg. Brynn receives  a threatening note along with a smashed wedding cake topper. Brynn realizes that she is headed towards doom, but there is no way to stop it.

Although Brynn is the primary protagonist, there is an unnamed character, referred to as “The Woman”, and it is her dialogue that takes the reader along for the rocky ride that Brynn is on, but is powerless to stop. With a few twists thrown in, this first book in the Broken Vows series by L. G. Davis was a thoroughly engaging read, and led me right to the second thrilling book, The Missing Bridesmaid

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.

The Missing Bridesmaid
Author:  L.  G. Davis
Series:  Broken Vows #2
Publisher:  Bookouture 
Genre:   Psychological Thriller 
Format:  Kindle ARC
No. of Pages:  310
Date of Publication:  June 13, 2024
My Rating:   4 Stars

At the end of the first book in this Broken Vows series, The Woman at My Wedding, Brynn’s plans went awry. Now it is several years later, and Hannah and Nathan are planning their wedding. One of their bridesmaids will be their six-year-old daughter Lennie. The circumstances that surround the relationship between Hannah and Nathan is set in place in the end of the first book in this series.

Hannah begins to realize that all that glitters is not gold. In fact, her perfect life and the idyllic future she imagines begins to crumble, and she is powerless to stop it. While the train wreck that proves to be Hannah’s life all of a sudden, there are other avenues and twists that this book takes. For one thing, the way the book begins shows readers that there is a lot to consider when it comes to young Lennie. Meanwhile, Nathan is away on an important case, but soon receives bad news that soon show the erosion of this expectedly perfect coupling between him and Hannah. 

As a reader, I quite enjoyed being able to read both of the books in this series back-to-back. As an intelligent reader, there was no doubt that things could get really bad for Hannah, but boy, it was a fun ride watching things unfold. As Hannah’s life slowly unravels, young Lennie depends on and confides in her imaginary friend Whisper. Those chapters, with Lennie’s POV throughout the book, definitely increased the tension as this story unfolded, thus making this book a real nail-biter. 

Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


Liz's story began in a refugee camp in Angola, where she spent the first eight years of her life. After that, she spent some years in Namibia (her home country), South Africa, and Germany. She now lives in Vienna, Austria, with her husband and two children. Liz wrote her first full-length novel at eighteen and hid it in a box under her bed. Several others soon followed it. Her passion lies in writing edge-of-the-seat psychological thrillers that give readers the same rush they would get on a rollercoaster.


Twitter: @LGDavisAuthor


Instagram: @lgdavisauthor

TikTok: @lgdavisbooks



Author email sign up:

No comments:

Post a Comment