Tuesday, May 2, 2023

Review - Hopefully Ever After

Title:   Hopefully Ever After
Author:   Beth Wiseman
Series:  The Amish Bookstore #3
Publisher:   Zondervan
Genre:   Amish Romance
Format:  Kindle ARC 
No. of Pages:   368
Date of Publication:   April 18, 2023
My Rating:   5 Stars


To become who they’re meant to be, Eden and Samuel must find the courage to defy expectations.

Sixteen-year-old Eden Hale doesn’t want to be defined by her current circumstances. With absent parents and a troubled past, Eden refuses to become what people expect. When she is sent to live with an Amish cousin she’s never met in Montgomery, Indiana, she welcomes the chance to become the person she wants to be without the burden of anyone’s judgment. Her hopes are confirmed when she meets Samuel, a young Amish man who seems to like her for who she really is.

Samuel Byler has grown up with strict Amish parents, and they aren’t happy that their only son is choosing to spend his free time with an outsider. As Eden and Samuel grow closer, disapproval swirls around the young couple. It isn’t long before Eden starts to doubt herself and wonders if she is doomed to repeat the mistakes of her own past, whether she wants to or not. Meanwhile, Samuel finds himself slipping further and further from his faith—to Eden’s dismay.

Both Eden’s and Samuel’s futures hang in the balance as they face decisions about who they are meant to be—both as individuals and together.

Sweet contemporary Amish romance
Book 1: The Bookseller's Promise
Book 2: The Story of Love
Book 3: Hopefully Ever After

Reading a romance between two teenagers is unusual for me. Reading an Amish romance was just too sweet when it came to this book, Hopefully Ever After.  In fact, I am pleased to say that I read all three books in this series by Beth Wiseman one after another. Although this book could be read as a stand-alone, I highly recommend the delightful first two books, The Bookseller's Promise and The Story of Love. What an impressive series!

In this touching story, sixteen-year-old Eden Hale comes from a troubled past to stay temporarily with her Amish cousin in Indiana. Not sure that she wants to change for anyone, meeting a young Amish man named Samuel Byler changes Eden’s life in unexpected ways. Samuel has very strict parents and they are not happy with him spending so much time with Eden. He is at the age of Rumspringa, but knows that his parents don’t fully support that custom. 

I found this to be an exceptional coming-of-age story. Both Eden and Samuel really had to examine their lives, and what their futures just might bring. Since this is the third book in a series, there were some recurring characters that we met in the previous books. This gives this book and the entire series a very nice family and community vibe.

These are the first books I have read from Beth Wiseman, and have put several of her other books and series in my TBR. She writes characters with strong faith and determination along with forgiveness and love, making the stories very compelling reads. 

Many thanks to Zondervan and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion. 


"I wish I had the time to review books and chat with you here, but my writing deadlines just don't allow it. Please like my Fans of Beth Wiseman Page on Facebook where I try to post any news and interact with readers." 

Beth is the best-selling and award winning author of the Daughters of the Promise series - Plain Perfect, Plain Pursuit, Plain Promise, Plain Paradise, and Plain Proposal. She is contracted with HarperCollins Christian Publishing. Her other series--the Land of Canaan Novels--begins with Seek Me With All Your Heart, then The Wonder of Your Love and now, His Love Endures Forever. Seek Me With All Your Heart is the first Amish fiction book selected as a Women of Faith novel in 2011. Beth has also written three contemporary Christian fiction novels, Need You Now published in 2012 and The House That Love Built in 2013. In The Promise, (2014) Beth jumps way outside the box. This story takes readers far away from Amish Country and small Texas towns to a dangerous place on the other side of the world. Inspired by a true story, Beth believes this is the book she’s been working toward for a long time. 2015 brings Beth back to the Pennsylvania Amish with her new series, Amish Secrets. She is currently working on book #2 following much success with book #1, Her Brother's Keeper

No comments:

Post a Comment