Wednesday, February 14, 2024

Review - After That Night

  After That Night
Author:   Karin Slaughter
Series:  Will Trent #11
Publisher:   William Morrow
Narrator:  Kathleen Early
Genre:   Mystery/Thrillers
Format:   Kindle ARC
No. of pages:  512
Length:   16 hr 30 min
Date of Publication:  July 20, 2021
Rating:   5 Stars


After that night, nothing was ever the same again

Fifteen years ago, Sara Linton's life changed forever when a celebratory night out ended in a violent attack that tore her world apart. Since then, Sara has remade her life. A successful doctor, engaged to a man she loves, she has finally managed to leave the past behind her.

Until one evening, on call in the ER, everything changes. Sara battles to save a broken young woman who's been brutally attacked. But as the investigation progresses, led by GBI Special Agent Will Trent, it becomes clear that Dani Cooper's assault is uncannily linked to Sara's.

And it seems the past isn't going to stay buried forever.

This 11th book in the Will Trent series brings back trauma that Sara Linton experienced 15 years previously. Her life has changed completely. She is a successful doctor, and is happily engaged to GBI Special Agent Will Trent. For the most part, her past is a distant memory. However, when a young woman comes into the ER while Sara is on call, Sara's past all but smacks her in the face. The attack that the young woman experienced eerily resembles something horrific that Sara experienced all those years ago.

Will and his partner Faith begin the investigation, but Sara remains part of things. The deeper the investigation gets, the more Sara is reminded of her experiences from before. Having Will by her side most definitely gives her strength.

This story was utterly intense. Not only is it easy to feel for the newest victim, but Sara's horrors were heartbreaking. Although I had previously read the Grant County series, this 11th book in the Will Trent series was a tough read, yet definitely the best book in the series. It was gritty - gruesome even - but it brought the past and present together. This past and present definitely collided at times, but it was done in such a way to leave the reader to have nothing but compassion for Sara. 

While this latest book in this series could be read as a standalone, following the series in order, from the very first book, would really help the reader connect to all of the characters. Getting to know Will, Sara and Faith over the years and to see what they are up to now was great, but it only leaves me super eager for the series to continue.

Many thanks to William Morrow and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.


Published in 37 languages, with more than 35 million copies sold across the globe, her nineteen novels include the Grant County and Will Trent books, as well as the Edgar-nominated Cop Town and the instant New York Times bestselling novels Pretty Girls and The Good Daughter. Her most recent novel, The Last Widow, features Sara Linton and Will Trent. A native of Georgia, Karin currently lives in Atlanta. Her novels Cop Town, The Good Daughter, and Pieces of Her are all in development for film and television.

No comments:

Post a Comment